Six Threes Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Family really liked this. Very fresh flavor. I used skim milk so am wondering if this is what made the ice cream so hard and crystallized after it was frozen solid? Would give it 5 stars if it had been a smoother conistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
really a good fresh tasting ice cream. I add chopped strawberries to it....and then it's lucky 7!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Very flavorful and easy to make up in MINUTES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
Very delicious and so easy to make. I love it especially since I have most of these ingredients sitting around my house all the time. My father loved it and he isn't much of an ice cream eater, but he sure does love his fruit. I will keep on making this recipe all summer long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I have to say that this recipe is the best! When I was looking for an ice cream recipe, I saw this one and figured I would try it. I am so glad that I did because my kids fight me for it. I did make a few modifications though. I used orange juice instead of squeezed oranges (1 orange= 1/4 cup of juice). I also did the same for the lemons and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Made this for ice cream freeze off at church----- Won 1st place easy and very yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This is an extremely easy ice cream to make. I was just making it for myself and my husband, so I cut it in third just to make a smaller batch and the division was so easy. The one thing I didn't like was that it tasted too much like bananas to me, but maybe it was just my fruit? Anyways, it's quick and easy, and my husband liked it, but I'm not the biggest fan of bananas, maybe next time I'll try with other combinations of fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Enterprise, Alabama, USA
Living In: South Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
wow! a delicously refreshing creamy ice cream. I could taste the fresh oranges, lemons and bananas. It was such a nice balance of flavors, nothing overpowering each other in this ice cream. I had to cut this recipe down to fit my ice cream maker so I made 1 of everything. I also decided to add a zest of orange to the milk mixture. I put the milk mixture into the refrigerator to let everyhting set and chill a few hours before churning. It took almost 25 minute to make in the ice cream maker and there was a nice hint of citrus-y flavors which I love. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
absolutely wonderful recipe. I was afraid my Cuisinart wouldn't be able to handle 6 3's, so I too did 6 ones. I substituted 1/2 cup greek yogurt and 1/2 cup vanilla yogurt for the milk as I had lots of yogurt on hand. I also had just bought some fresh cherries from the market and threw in about a cup of chopped cherries after the first 5 minutes. Exceptionally tasty and creamy. The flavour was delightfully tangy and I think that frozen mango pieces would have been an even better addition. Thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2011
My grandkids had fun "churning" this in my "hand crank" one quart Donvier ice cream maker. Of course the recipe had to be reduced to Six Ones, as others have suggested. Otherwise, the only change I made was to add some of the orange and lemon zest for extra citrus flavor. We served ours in waffle bowls for an extra treat. Granddaughter isn't crazy about bananas. She wasn't aware of them lurking in the mixture as I had made it ahead. She took a bite or two, got a puzzled look on her face, asked if there was banana in the ice cream and proceeded to devour it. I may try fresh peaches or strawberries another time. I also like another reviewer's suggestion to replace a small amount of sugar with a bit of corn syrup to help maintain the original creaminess of this recipe after freezing. Although when making a quart, truthfully, there are not a lot of leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States