Six Threes Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2015
This recipe was the easiest I have ever tried for ice cream so I was pretty excited about it. I was also excited to try it because the great reviews but I have to admit my family was not loving it and my husband made comment that it tasted like whip cream not ice cream. I think it is just as good, if not better than some of the dry mixes you can buy for your ice cream freezer but I think I prefer the cook kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2015
One of the best ice creams I've ever made. I swear I could sell this stuff! Only change was I used fresh pineapple instead of banana because my hubby doesn't like banana. Even my oldest son who hates ice cream ate a small bowl. And so easy to remember. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I made this exactly as written the first time (well six twos to fit my 2-quart ice cream maker) because I don't believe one should change a recipe and then review the changed version. I was surprised by the texture given that it isn't a custard-based ice cream. Very smooth and creamy. But the flavor is a bit odd. Too much citrus to banana. The second time I made it (again, six twos) I substituted 1 small package frozen raspberries for the bananas (thawed and strained to remove seeds) and used the juice of two large lemons. No orange juice. I reduced the sugar to 1.5 cups. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Super easy! Great flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I went crazy making homemade ice cream a couple months ago… trying different recipes, flavors, combinations, etc. Now that is it time to make more, my husband only wants this recipe. I have to say it really is so refreshing and has a really lovely taste! Christmas or not, we are making this banana flavored ice-cream for sure! Couldn't be simpler. If you are making ice cream for the first time, this is a great recipe to start with! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is fruity and rich and wonderful. I made it exactly according to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aesj22

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
My Mom passed away in January and I'm making a cookbook from the family recipes. I found a small receipt from a store called Kuhn's dated May 28, 1964 in my Mom's recipe box, and on the back was this exact recipe, written in her writing. The cool thing is, I remember helping her make this (I was banana masher!) I googled it because the receipt didn't say "ice cream" so I wasn't sure what it was. I'm really tickled to find out what it was and be able to make the connection to my memories. This has been such a wonderful project for me and I sure enjoyed this ice cream growing up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Very tasty and fresh! Boyfriend totally loves this ice cream and insists it tastes like kiwi. I can't say i tastes like kiwi but i has a wonderful fruity flavor. Super easy to make with just knives in the food processor. Once I substituted the banana with fresh sour cherries, a drop of almond extract and added some more cream for a little extra softness - it was a hit with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Frida Broström

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
This was a great recipe. We have an ice cream maker and my husband has used it more then me but I was looking for something different to serve for a barbeque. Boy was it a hit. I used 2 peaches, 4 apricots, 1 banana plus the orange and lemon. Awesome I had read the reviews and one said to refrigerate before making, I made it the night before and churned it the next morning awesome. Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
Not for me. It was way too sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Timmons Brooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stockwell, Indiana, USA
Living In: Dayton, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States