Six Threes Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Until now I've had very rigid thinking that ice cream has to start with a cooked egg custard in order for it to be top-notch. Not so here. I resisted the urge to add egg yolks as I usually do, basically as an experiment, and I was pleasantly surprised! This is some creamy ice cream! And what an unusual flavor--not quite banana, not quite citrus, but a recognizable, delicious blend of the two. With no cooked custard involved, this was a snap to make. I made this in six 1's in order to fit my Cuisinart Ice Cream Maker, adding an extra half banana, and used 2 parts cream to 1 part half and half. To ensure the best results, once mixed, refrigerate for several hours before churning. I'm so glad I tried this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
My husband said this was the best ice cream he had ever eaten...and we are ice cream fanatics. I made this as six twos and still had a little bit too much for my smaller ice cream freezer, so I just poured the rest into a plastic container with a lid and stuck it in the freezer. Both batches turned out great. Also the juice from the oranges and lemons combined to make about 6 oz. of juice. So if I'm really short on time I can buy fresh juice at the grocery store instead of squeezing my own. Thanks for a yummy new recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
This is the best ice cream in the world! A friend shared this recipe with me a long time ago, and said it was best made with peaches. She was right! It's also great with strawberries, or blackberries. Just substitute the bananas with 3 cups of your favorite fruit -- it's sure to be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Murphy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2007
I made some adjustments for my 6 quart ice cream maker. I wanted to make strawberry ice cream so I pureed 2 lbs of strawberries in my blender and did 3 Fours, i.e. 4 cups each - milk, 1/2 & 1/2 and sugar and then added the pureed strawberries to the mix. It was perfect and fed 17 people. If everyone would have taken the same amount, it would have fed 15 people easy. Great easy recipe and a real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairbury, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
Very good and easy recipe! I cut it down to six "ones" for my kitchen aid ice cream maker and it was perfect. I substituted 1 1/2 c mashed strawberries for two of the bananas and added the zest from the orange. I also substituted half and half for the cream. Very refreshing and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sandy, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hubert, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2004
This is really refreshing and takes *no* effort. Somebody ate one of the bananas I intended to use, so I cut back the recipe to "Six two's", which still was enough to fill my Cuisinart ice cream maker twice. I used a blender so the bananas would be mixed in well, and used half and half for part of the cream. On the second batch, I added a splash of coconut extract and some orange zest. We liked it better that way; next time will try lemon zest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
OH MY GOSH! This is just so refreshing and delicious -- there just aren't words. I had to half it because my ice cream freezer doesn't do two quarts but it worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
Loved this simple ice cream recipe. I blended all the fruit juices and the bananas so no pulp problem. Used an old fashoned ice cream maker with ice and salt...it worked great! Really rich...Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2004
Really good recipe. Somewhat new at making ice cream. I used the orange and lemon pulp in the ice cream. The pulp clogged the beater. Next time I'll chop pulp well in the blender. Also used lemon zest. Will do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
This is an awesome recipe! So refreshing! I received this recipe from a friend over 30 years ago! It has been a favorite in my family all these years! I've never run across it anywhere until now! The name of the recipe makes it so easy to remember how to make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Green Tea Mochi Ice Cream

See how to make green tea mochi-wrapped vanilla ice cream.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States