Six Spice Maple Cornish Hens Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2001
A very nice blend of spices- the maple syrup complements it perfectly. (I'm keeping a jar of the spice mix to try on other things as well!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2001
This is one of my new favorite recipe's. We loved the combination of spices contrasted with the maple syrup. Beware of broiling times however, the recipe calls for 12-14 minutes in an oven on Broil and mine almost caught fire. I would follow the recipe and bake them at 350 or 375 degrees or grill them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
I was a little nervous about the spice mix and quantity that is rubbed on the hen, but it turned out great. My husband made them on the grill and our guests were very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2002
THis was the first time I used the broiler and I loved it. However, the maple syrup only stays on the skin and doesn't get absorbed by the meat. Maybe the syrup should stay on for a couple of hours before broiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
The flavor was fantastic, but oh my gosh, it was so fiery hot, I could hardly eat it. And this was after cutting both the red pepper and black pepper in half. My husband loved it. I will definitely make it again, but I will cut the pepper way, way down to accommodate my tender Minnesota mouth! Instad of grilling outside, I roasted these in the oven at 350 degrees for about 1 hour 15 minutes. A very easy and delicious way to make game hens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2002
There seemed to be such a large amount of spice, but I followed the recipe, exactly, and LOVED it! My husband did also. This will be our new guest special dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
I was nervous after reading the reviews that it was going to be too spicy but it was definitely not! Great flavor and not too much even though it seems like so much seasoning. It was raining so we couldn't grill so instead of broiling we baked them in the oven on 350 degrees for an hour and 20 minutes. Will definitely be making this again,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
Have made this several times. I have never just grilled this, I pop it in the oven on 350 for 45-60 minutes, basting on and off and then finish it off on the grill, basting, for about 10 minutes per side so the syrup glazes. I'm always afraid it will be dry but this way is always tender and juicy. I'll have to be brave one time and just grill it. We like spicy, so it was not too spicy for us. One of my favorite BBQ recipes, YUMMM Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
This is a wonderful recipe and even my daughter who hates "Little chickens" liked this one. I changed it a bit as I usually do with recipes and since it was raining and about 40 degrees, grilling was not an option. I mixed all everything together and made a glaze(I skipped the oil)I brushed all my game hens with the glaze and baked them.Wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
This recipe was just wonderful!!! We grilled them outside and my husband just couldn't stop raving about the flavor. Definitely adjust the pepper to your taste; I cut the red pepper in half and they still had a kick. One tip though, if you find that you've got them a little too spicy, heat up some more of the maple syrup and dip the chicken in it - it cuts the spice perfectly. I also added onion powder and a little salt. All in all, this was a great recipe that I'm definitely putting in my book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States