Six Egg Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was a great cake! I took the suggestions made by others and divided the batter in two pans! I also cut the sugar by half a cup. Turned out great! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
This pound cake is delicious, very moist, and reminds me of being a kid in south Georgia with my nanny in the kitchen pulling out a big pound cake from the oven and placing it on the window to cool.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valdosta, Georgia, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2008
After reading the other reviews and comparing this recipe to another i've used recently, i changed a couple of things, and it turned out great! First, i eliminated the baking powder. This eliminated the overflow problem and gave it a definite pound cake texture. Also, i used 2 cups white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar for a little twist. It was delicious! A perfect stand-by bundt cake recipe that can easily be slightly altered to accommodate different flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
This recipe sounded good and simple, so I tried it... It was really delicious and super simple. I didn't change a thing in the recipe, but did pour a portion of the batter in a small bread loaf pan. Everyone mentioned that it overflowed so I decided not to waste the extra. It worked great. Be sure to grease and flour the extra pan for easy removal. The cake is very flavorful and needs only a good glaze. I used the one mentioned with extra lemon juice. Made it last night and we finished the last of the cake this morning with coffee. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Knob Noster, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
This cake turned out really delicious and simple to make!! LOVELY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Not at all pleased with this cake. It is not a pound cake. What you get when you make this is basic yellow cake. It tastes fine and I wouldn't hesitate to use this for a birthday cake but it's too light and airy to be a pound cake. I thought with 6 eggs in the batter that it must be a heavy, dense, rich cake. It's nothing like that and I don't think I'll be making this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is a great pound cake recipe and changing the serving to 8 is perfect for a loaf pan. If you have a larger pan then you can keep the servings the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This recipe was almost perfect for my purposes. I only had a 9x13 cake pan (silly, I know) so I was looking for something that would really fill up the pan and this was absolutely it. It was done in 60 minutes and was suprisingly browner than I wanted it. The taste was great but it was just darker than I was expecting. It was definitely a lot lighter than most pound cakes and it actually took a couple of bites for me to register that signature 'pound cake' texture. I served it both plain and drizzled with lemon sauce. It was great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Very good pound cake. I made it in two loaf pans, it rose quite a bit, but didn't overflow. I also made whipped cream to go with it...very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
This is a great cake! It is nice and moist, not as heavy as many pound cakes. I baked it in a tube pan and had no problems with overflow. It took 70 minutes in my oven. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Kansas, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States