Six Egg Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2001
What didn't burn on the floor of my oven was delicious. Overflow was unavoidable. It must be explained that this recipe should be mixed by hand since an electric mixer (in my case 5qt Kitchen Aid) will beat too much air into the batter as well as causing it to dry out in the oven. Very simple recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This was the first pound cake I ever made and it turned out beautifully! I halved the recipe though cause after reading the reviews it seems that you get 2 cakes from the full amount of batter. I got 1 perfect sized cake. The batter does rise quite a bit and the top seems to brown fast so I had to turn down the heat 3/4 way through cooking. It smelled wonderful in the oven, yum! The taste of the cake itself is not too sweet at all, in fact it's perfect and I was delighted by this because it leaves opportunity for many different types of toppings! I served up some slices with a dusting of confectioners' sugar and a generous drizzle of Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce (found on this site) and it was great! I think I'll add some whipped cream to the combination next time around. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Excellent Recipe...mine was very moist and firm...the outside was just a little bit crusty and it turned out a beautiful light golden brown. It did take the full 90 minutes in my oven but I checked on it from 60 minutes and on...I had taken notice of everyone who said that theirs overflowed....I put a cookie sheet on a shelf below and lined it with foil. There was some overflow but not a huge amount. When I inverted it was a very large pound cake. I did use 2 full teaspoons of Watkins double strength vanilla and the flavor was excellent. Loved this recipe...can't wait to try it with strawberries and whip cream.. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I've made this one about 10 times. It's a great pound cake! A LARGE tube pan does nicely with no overflow. Sometimes I add some thing different, extra sugar, lemon extract, almond extract, food color swirls, etc. One time I only had 5 eggs, and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
The best fool-proof, versatile cake recipe I've ever used, and I've tried a lot of them. You really can't screw this up if you follow the recipe properly. As for it rising too much, I've never had it happen and I've done more than a dozen of them. 05 april 2009 - update: still my favorite cake ever. If you're doing large batches (i.e. professional baker), make the recipe for 24 portions, and it fits perfectly in a full sheet pan. Also discovered that it works fine if the oven is already preheated; just decrease the baking time and watch it closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Millstone, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2003
This cake was soooooooooooooo delicious. I started out just baking one for a neighbor as a thank you gift. But it turned out so good and had my home smelling just as good, my husband had me to make another for our family. I did have some overflow the first go round but the second time i just filled my bundt pan a little over half and filled the rest in a loaf pan. Two for the price of one! Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
A delicious cake that is easy to make and not too heavy. When I put the mix in my 10 inch bundt pan it almost filled it t the top. I was worried about it overflowing so i tapped it on the counter several times to release some air bubbles and it didn't overflow, it did climb over the top though...careful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Good basic pound cake. The outside of it came out slightly crisp and sweet, and the inside was very moist. It raises very high so be careful. I took the advice of another on here and used a cookie sheet underneath. It will spill through the center hole of the bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefRenee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
I have baked this cake several times now.It is so far the best pound cake I have baked. I just finished baking again with half the recipe and it still turned out great tasting. Awesome recipe or perhaps its because I always talk to my cake when in the oven that "PLEASE RISE&SHINE".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BLU3WATER
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
I like the texture of this cake as it's lighter than usual pound cake. Followed others' suggestion of spliting the batter into 2 pans. I'm glad I did coz it rises high! I also mixed 1/4 of the batter with cocoa powder n chocolate chips for a "chocolate surprise". Will add lemon or orange zest next time to add more flavor. Overall a good cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States