Six Egg Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This was the first pound cake I ever made and it turned out beautifully! I halved the recipe though cause after reading the reviews it seems that you get 2 cakes from the full amount of batter. I got 1 perfect sized cake. The batter does rise quite a bit and the top seems to brown fast so I had to turn down the heat 3/4 way through cooking. It smelled wonderful in the oven, yum! The taste of the cake itself is not too sweet at all, in fact it's perfect and I was delighted by this because it leaves opportunity for many different types of toppings! I served up some slices with a dusting of confectioners' sugar and a generous drizzle of Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce (found on this site) and it was great! I think I'll add some whipped cream to the combination next time around. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Delicious! Going by other reviews, I baked on a cookie sheet for 90 min. at 325. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This cake was delicious!! The top started to brown too fast so I just turned the temp down and cooked alittle longer. Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KeriLee
Home Town: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
The taste of this cake was good but the texture was not like a pound cake. If i was going to make this cake again, i would bake it at 300 degrees because the top and outside was nearly burnt but the middle of the cake wasnt close to being ready.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Delicious! I had my daughter make it and it was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Out of all the pound cakes I have made, this is the best-ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Good basic pound cake. The outside of it came out slightly crisp and sweet, and the inside was very moist. It raises very high so be careful. I took the advice of another on here and used a cookie sheet underneath. It will spill through the center hole of the bundt pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefRenee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2005
Excellent Recipe...mine was very moist and firm...the outside was just a little bit crusty and it turned out a beautiful light golden brown. It did take the full 90 minutes in my oven but I checked on it from 60 minutes and on...I had taken notice of everyone who said that theirs overflowed....I put a cookie sheet on a shelf below and lined it with foil. There was some overflow but not a huge amount. When I inverted it was a very large pound cake. I did use 2 full teaspoons of Watkins double strength vanilla and the flavor was excellent. Loved this recipe...can't wait to try it with strawberries and whip cream.. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
I've made this one about 10 times. It's a great pound cake! A LARGE tube pan does nicely with no overflow. Sometimes I add some thing different, extra sugar, lemon extract, almond extract, food color swirls, etc. One time I only had 5 eggs, and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2005
This did not come out good, it was like a lead brick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States