Six Egg Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Java_Girl
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
Not at all pleased with this cake. It is not a pound cake. What you get when you make this is basic yellow cake. It tastes fine and I wouldn't hesitate to use this for a birthday cake but it's too light and airy to be a pound cake. I thought with 6 eggs in the batter that it must be a heavy, dense, rich cake. It's nothing like that and I don't think I'll be making this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is a great pound cake recipe and changing the serving to 8 is perfect for a loaf pan. If you have a larger pan then you can keep the servings the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This recipe was almost perfect for my purposes. I only had a 9x13 cake pan (silly, I know) so I was looking for something that would really fill up the pan and this was absolutely it. It was done in 60 minutes and was suprisingly browner than I wanted it. The taste was great but it was just darker than I was expecting. It was definitely a lot lighter than most pound cakes and it actually took a couple of bites for me to register that signature 'pound cake' texture. I served it both plain and drizzled with lemon sauce. It was great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Very good pound cake. I made it in two loaf pans, it rose quite a bit, but didn't overflow. I also made whipped cream to go with it...very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
This is a great cake! It is nice and moist, not as heavy as many pound cakes. I baked it in a tube pan and had no problems with overflow. It took 70 minutes in my oven. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Kansas, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
The best fool-proof, versatile cake recipe I've ever used, and I've tried a lot of them. You really can't screw this up if you follow the recipe properly. As for it rising too much, I've never had it happen and I've done more than a dozen of them. 05 april 2009 - update: still my favorite cake ever. If you're doing large batches (i.e. professional baker), make the recipe for 24 portions, and it fits perfectly in a full sheet pan. Also discovered that it works fine if the oven is already preheated; just decrease the baking time and watch it closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Millstone, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I made this recipe for a group and everyone loved it! I served it with fresh, sweetened strawberries and ice cream, but it was delicious by itself. I read the other reviews and baked it in two pans, one large tube pan and a loaf pan, to make sure it didn't overflow. This was not needed - it would have done fine in just the tube pan. I also used 1/4 cup brown sugar in place of 1/4 cup of the white sugar. I think this added a nice flavor. I did place a cookie sheet underneath and was glad I did as I had some liquid leak through the bottom of my pan. Overall, this is a great recipe that I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I made this for 8 servings and it fit perfectly in a bundt pan. It was good, but better the next day, after stored on a covered cake stand. I served it with strawberry sauce and it was a nice dessert. Not spectacular, lighter than most pound cakes I"m used to, but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carries
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I follow the recipes as it is except for the Milk, I modified this recipe into a strawberry chocolate chip cake..instead of milk I used strawberry smoothie, add 1 cup of fresh strawberry cut into small pieces/chunks...and 1/2 cup chocolate chip, red food coloring to make it pink...it's so moist...definitely a keeper. It did leave a behive shape of cake on the baking sheet though...good for tester :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carries

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I couldn't find an orange pound cake, so I've made the following changes to this recipe: - I've reduced sugar to 2 1/4 cups; - I've increased vanilla to 2 tsp; - I've reduced (boiled down) 1/2 cup of O.J. to 1/4 cup and used it instead of 1/4 cup of milk. - I've used 1/2 cup of milk; - I've added grated zest of one orange. I also baked it at 325F for 80 minutes. It turned out very well, with a nice (however mild) orange flavour. We had some friends over for tea and they loved the cake, having seconds and thirds. Everyone's favourite part was the golden crunchy crust. This cake is not going to become a kind of recipe I would make over and over, but I will make it again for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lublin, Lublin, Poland
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States