Six Egg Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
Very good pound cake. I made it in two loaf pans, it rose quite a bit, but didn't overflow. I also made whipped cream to go with it...very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
This is a great cake! It is nice and moist, not as heavy as many pound cakes. I baked it in a tube pan and had no problems with overflow. It took 70 minutes in my oven. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Kansas, USA
Living In: Leavenworth, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
The best fool-proof, versatile cake recipe I've ever used, and I've tried a lot of them. You really can't screw this up if you follow the recipe properly. As for it rising too much, I've never had it happen and I've done more than a dozen of them. 05 april 2009 - update: still my favorite cake ever. If you're doing large batches (i.e. professional baker), make the recipe for 24 portions, and it fits perfectly in a full sheet pan. Also discovered that it works fine if the oven is already preheated; just decrease the baking time and watch it closely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Millstone, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
I made this recipe for a group and everyone loved it! I served it with fresh, sweetened strawberries and ice cream, but it was delicious by itself. I read the other reviews and baked it in two pans, one large tube pan and a loaf pan, to make sure it didn't overflow. This was not needed - it would have done fine in just the tube pan. I also used 1/4 cup brown sugar in place of 1/4 cup of the white sugar. I think this added a nice flavor. I did place a cookie sheet underneath and was glad I did as I had some liquid leak through the bottom of my pan. Overall, this is a great recipe that I will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2007
I made this for 8 servings and it fit perfectly in a bundt pan. It was good, but better the next day, after stored on a covered cake stand. I served it with strawberry sauce and it was a nice dessert. Not spectacular, lighter than most pound cakes I"m used to, but it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA
Living In: Lorton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by carries
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2007
I follow the recipes as it is except for the Milk, I modified this recipe into a strawberry chocolate chip cake..instead of milk I used strawberry smoothie, add 1 cup of fresh strawberry cut into small pieces/chunks...and 1/2 cup chocolate chip, red food coloring to make it pink...it's so moist...definitely a keeper. It did leave a behive shape of cake on the baking sheet though...good for tester :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by carries

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I couldn't find an orange pound cake, so I've made the following changes to this recipe: - I've reduced sugar to 2 1/4 cups; - I've increased vanilla to 2 tsp; - I've reduced (boiled down) 1/2 cup of O.J. to 1/4 cup and used it instead of 1/4 cup of milk. - I've used 1/2 cup of milk; - I've added grated zest of one orange. I also baked it at 325F for 80 minutes. It turned out very well, with a nice (however mild) orange flavour. We had some friends over for tea and they loved the cake, having seconds and thirds. Everyone's favourite part was the golden crunchy crust. This cake is not going to become a kind of recipe I would make over and over, but I will make it again for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lublin, Lublin, Poland
Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
This was the first pound cake I ever made and it turned out beautifully! I halved the recipe though cause after reading the reviews it seems that you get 2 cakes from the full amount of batter. I got 1 perfect sized cake. The batter does rise quite a bit and the top seems to brown fast so I had to turn down the heat 3/4 way through cooking. It smelled wonderful in the oven, yum! The taste of the cake itself is not too sweet at all, in fact it's perfect and I was delighted by this because it leaves opportunity for many different types of toppings! I served up some slices with a dusting of confectioners' sugar and a generous drizzle of Sue's Hot Fudge Sauce (found on this site) and it was great! I think I'll add some whipped cream to the combination next time around. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Delicious! Going by other reviews, I baked on a cookie sheet for 90 min. at 325. It was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This cake was delicious!! The top started to brown too fast so I just turned the temp down and cooked alittle longer. Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KeriLee
Home Town: Malvern, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States