Six Egg Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very tasty and easy to make and delocious flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEFFERS22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I have changed serving size to 10 and it is perfect! A simple yet rich cake to enjoy with fruit and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Very moist, yet it still tastes like pound cake. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
First time making pound cake by myself. Loved the recipe!!! Rose pretty high and was delicious!!! Even my mom loved it and she's an old fashioned pound cake lover :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Thanks for the great recipe. It has literally been 15 yrs. since I had baked a pound cake. I made this one but I followed some of the reviewers advice and I split the batter between a bundt and a loaf pan. To me it tasted just like the Entenmann's(c) Pound Cake and if you like Entenmann's then you will love this cake. My co-workers goobled it up like it was Manna from Heaven. Unfortunalely, I don't like Entenmann's. Not to be beat, I did a do over but because it was 2:30 Christmas Morning and I had been up umpteen hours I forgot to add the milk. I was still okay because I had already added 3/4 cup of sour cream(just cause) and 1/2 tsp. lemon extract. I didn't split the batter and it came out AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
A beautiful pound cake. I have made it several times. Received plenty of compliments and requests for the recipe. The recipe actually makes 2 cakes not one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Excellent recipe - followed it all the way through using the tips of how to make a pound cake found under articles. Cooked for about 65 minutes middle rack and came out wonderful. Would like to expirement with leaving out baking soda to get a more dense cake. Regardless this is a delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I give this recipe four stars, but only because I modified it. Taking the advice of another reviewer, I completely eliminated the baking powder, making it a much more "true" pound cake AND entirely eliminating the overflow problem. I also converted it to a lemon pound cake by substituting (1:1) fresh lemon juice for the vanilla, adding about three tablespoons of lemon zest, and reducing the sugar by 1/2 cup. Taking the suggestion of another reviewer, I sprinkled brown sugar and choppped pecans in the pan before filling it with batter. Baked (without pre-heating the oven) for seventy-five minutes (splitting the difference between the suggested bake times). The resulting cake is really good; it came out of my (silicone) bundt pan cleanly and easily, although I did notice a very slight underdone swirl through the lower register of the cake -- maybe I should have kept it in the oven a bit longer. Thanks, Diane, for a great foundation for a really very good cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I made this with my mother-in-law in Japan, and the whole family went wild!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TwinkieMel
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Success! Instead of filling my bundt pan completely, I spooned some off into a small loaf pan and did not have trouble with spillover. Cooked in exactly 60 min (but should have taken out the small loaf sooner). For glaze I mixed 1c powdered sugar and 2 TBS milk and splash of vanilla to drizzle consistency. Served with berries and cool whip but it is delicious on its own. Can't wait to upload a picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States