Six Egg Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very tasty and easy to make and delocious flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEFFERS22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I have changed serving size to 10 and it is perfect! A simple yet rich cake to enjoy with fruit and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Very moist, yet it still tastes like pound cake. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
First time making pound cake by myself. Loved the recipe!!! Rose pretty high and was delicious!!! Even my mom loved it and she's an old fashioned pound cake lover :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Thanks for the great recipe. It has literally been 15 yrs. since I had baked a pound cake. I made this one but I followed some of the reviewers advice and I split the batter between a bundt and a loaf pan. To me it tasted just like the Entenmann's(c) Pound Cake and if you like Entenmann's then you will love this cake. My co-workers goobled it up like it was Manna from Heaven. Unfortunalely, I don't like Entenmann's. Not to be beat, I did a do over but because it was 2:30 Christmas Morning and I had been up umpteen hours I forgot to add the milk. I was still okay because I had already added 3/4 cup of sour cream(just cause) and 1/2 tsp. lemon extract. I didn't split the batter and it came out AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
A beautiful pound cake. I have made it several times. Received plenty of compliments and requests for the recipe. The recipe actually makes 2 cakes not one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Excellent recipe - followed it all the way through using the tips of how to make a pound cake found under articles. Cooked for about 65 minutes middle rack and came out wonderful. Would like to expirement with leaving out baking soda to get a more dense cake. Regardless this is a delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I give this recipe four stars, but only because I modified it. Taking the advice of another reviewer, I completely eliminated the baking powder, making it a much more "true" pound cake AND entirely eliminating the overflow problem. I also converted it to a lemon pound cake by substituting (1:1) fresh lemon juice for the vanilla, adding about three tablespoons of lemon zest, and reducing the sugar by 1/2 cup. Taking the suggestion of another reviewer, I sprinkled brown sugar and choppped pecans in the pan before filling it with batter. Baked (without pre-heating the oven) for seventy-five minutes (splitting the difference between the suggested bake times). The resulting cake is really good; it came out of my (silicone) bundt pan cleanly and easily, although I did notice a very slight underdone swirl through the lower register of the cake -- maybe I should have kept it in the oven a bit longer. Thanks, Diane, for a great foundation for a really very good cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2009
I made this with my mother-in-law in Japan, and the whole family went wild!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TwinkieMel
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
Success! Instead of filling my bundt pan completely, I spooned some off into a small loaf pan and did not have trouble with spillover. Cooked in exactly 60 min (but should have taken out the small loaf sooner). For glaze I mixed 1c powdered sugar and 2 TBS milk and splash of vanilla to drizzle consistency. Served with berries and cool whip but it is delicious on its own. Can't wait to upload a picture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States