Six Egg Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Taste amazing! Made for a bake sale. Does not disappoint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I haven't been baking for a few years and am just getting back into it. It was great to start with a wonderful success! This cake turned out just perfectly. Nice and moist, not too sweet. Had 4 oz. of cream cheese to use up so whipped that with 1/3 c. confectioner's sugar and 1/4 c. o.j. for drizzling over. I'm back in the saddle again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Very tasty and easy to make and delocious flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEFFERS22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provo, Utah, USA
Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I have changed serving size to 10 and it is perfect! A simple yet rich cake to enjoy with fruit and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
Very moist, yet it still tastes like pound cake. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
First time making pound cake by myself. Loved the recipe!!! Rose pretty high and was delicious!!! Even my mom loved it and she's an old fashioned pound cake lover :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Thanks for the great recipe. It has literally been 15 yrs. since I had baked a pound cake. I made this one but I followed some of the reviewers advice and I split the batter between a bundt and a loaf pan. To me it tasted just like the Entenmann's(c) Pound Cake and if you like Entenmann's then you will love this cake. My co-workers goobled it up like it was Manna from Heaven. Unfortunalely, I don't like Entenmann's. Not to be beat, I did a do over but because it was 2:30 Christmas Morning and I had been up umpteen hours I forgot to add the milk. I was still okay because I had already added 3/4 cup of sour cream(just cause) and 1/2 tsp. lemon extract. I didn't split the batter and it came out AWESOME!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
A beautiful pound cake. I have made it several times. Received plenty of compliments and requests for the recipe. The recipe actually makes 2 cakes not one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingprincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
Excellent recipe - followed it all the way through using the tips of how to make a pound cake found under articles. Cooked for about 65 minutes middle rack and came out wonderful. Would like to expirement with leaving out baking soda to get a more dense cake. Regardless this is a delicious cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
I give this recipe four stars, but only because I modified it. Taking the advice of another reviewer, I completely eliminated the baking powder, making it a much more "true" pound cake AND entirely eliminating the overflow problem. I also converted it to a lemon pound cake by substituting (1:1) fresh lemon juice for the vanilla, adding about three tablespoons of lemon zest, and reducing the sugar by 1/2 cup. Taking the suggestion of another reviewer, I sprinkled brown sugar and choppped pecans in the pan before filling it with batter. Baked (without pre-heating the oven) for seventy-five minutes (splitting the difference between the suggested bake times). The resulting cake is really good; it came out of my (silicone) bundt pan cleanly and easily, although I did notice a very slight underdone swirl through the lower register of the cake -- maybe I should have kept it in the oven a bit longer. Thanks, Diane, for a great foundation for a really very good cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HSILCOX

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennedyville, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Too Much Chocolate Cake

Too much chocolate is just enough with this moist, prize-winning cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States