Six Can Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I made this according to directions, but opened a can of cream style corn instead of regular. I had already added two cans of broth, so my soup was a bit thin. Next time I may use the creamed corn with just one can of broth. The soup was a bit bland, so I added around a teaspoon each of cumin and chili powder and a little onion and garlic powder. My husband thought it was great and couldn't believe it was from 6 cans! Next time I'll try to use a rotisserie chicken, but the canned was all I had on hand this time. This is a great recipe to pull together from pantry ingredients on short notice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I poach about four chicken thighs skin and debone it and just tear it apart. I use the broth from it instead of canned. I also add a can of white hominy, rinsed and drained. Also a small can of chopped green chili's I work with several Hispanic ladies and they love it when I bring this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene Parks

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
My family loves it! I top it with crushed tortilla chips and shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I add another pantry staple to the soup, a pkg. or two of dry ranch dressing mix since I can't do wheat. Makes it creamier and adds to the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
I make this recipe every winter. I first started making it from a Jenny-O recipe that used ground turkey (my favorite way. It's fabulous. I don't know why but this combination really tastes like everything was made from scratch. Instead of canned tomatoes, I use a jar of salsa for more depth of flavor. Topped with chips, cheese and avocado. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Loved it! Sounds too easy to be true, has just the right amount of kick. I use leftover rotisserie chicken instead of canned chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Add some cumin, chili powder and 1 chili in adobo sauce. A little cilantro at the end. Fabulous..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Very good soup. We have been making for almost 10 years with a few variations. Switch out 1 can of broth for a can of refried black beans and add a cup of cheese to the soup. Makes a nice thick satisfying soup. Fresh or rotisserie chicken is good and frozen corn is good too. Not a pretty soup but always a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I really loved this soup,but the only recommendation I have is that you use a roasted chicken you can pick up at the market. I used low sodium chicken stock and didn't need to add salt. The chicken seasons the soul perfectly. So simple and so delicious. Top with a sprinkling of shredded cheese and some avocado chunks and you're good to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by googirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
My 7 yo LOVES this soup and requests it regularly. One thing I do change at times is to use frozen corn instead of canned, simply to cut down on salt. When I do use the canned variety, I don't drain it. I also use the larger cans of chicken (13 oz) that I typically can only find at Sam's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,469) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States