Six Can Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Because I didn't have the diced tomato's and I didn't want to open a 28oz can of beans, I had to make some alterations since I didn't want to go to the store. I also halfed the recipe, sort of. I used a 12oz jar of Mild salsa and only @3/4 cup of chicken broth since I like thick, chunky soups. Tasted good for a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CupcakesbyHeidi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I added 2 tbsp taco seasoning to this recipe to spice it up a bit. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This is a great BASE recipe for chicken tortilla soup!! I did this recipe in my crock pot with a few tweaks. I swapped canned chicken for fresh strips of chicken breast. B/c I didn't want to wait for raw chicken to cook in the crock pot, I cooked the chicken in a frying pan for 2 mins. on each side. Add partially cooked chicken to crock pot with 1 Cup of Chicken Broth and let cook on High for 1.5-2 hours. Shred chicken and add the drained corn, drained & RINSED black beans, diced tomatoes (not drained) & the rest of the can of chicken broth plus the second can from the original recipe. ADDITIONS: I added two cans of 10.5 oz condensed cream of chicken to add thickness. And for flavoring I added garlic powder, salt, pepper, and LOTS of chili powder. Top with a dollop of sour cream if you wish and some left over flour tortillas cut into strips and baked. I also garnished with a bit of shredded cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Love how easy and cost effective it is. I could not believe that once it was cooked I could not tell it was canned chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2013
This is an excellent recipe!! The only thing I would add is to rinse the black beans. Otherwise the soup will be grey and cloudy. We added some diced avacado and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I thought this tasted okay. It was kind of on the thin side though. I don't care for tomatoes with peppers in them, so I just added a can of plain diced. To flavor it I added about 2 tsp of taco seasoning and a good pinch of garlic powder. I can't imagine the rotel style tomatoes making this much thicker. It would be best with topping, tortilla strips, cheese, avacadoes, etc., to give it more bulk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
So very simple but so very good. I took some of other reviewers suggestions like 1 can of broth 1 can of cream of chicken. Next time I won't use a can of water to thin it out. I like it thicker. I also added 1/4 t of red chili flake, cayenne & paprika and 1/2 T of chili powder. Since this is the 2nd time I'm making it I decided to rinse off the black beans so the soup wouldn't have an an off putting color and hand shredded the chicken chunks so it would be more evenly distributed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
This soup is fantastic and very fast to make.I did make some alterations thou...Pinto beans instead of Black,Twice the amount of chicken,added more chopped Jalapenos,plus red pepper. After the HOT soup is in the serving bowl,added a generous amount of Jack cheese(which will melt somewhat)then some broken up corn chips.Don't ever forget the Avocado on the side or in the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Tried as is and was amazed! Just follow your taste buds and you cannot go wrong! ...well for the most part! Fills up everyone for next to nothing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by allenhinton
Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 1,439) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Six-Can Chicken Tortilla Soup

You won't believe how tasty this easy soup is. Serve with chips.

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States