Sitting Pretty Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
I have made this recipe for as long as I can remember. It is a staple at holiday meals, especially Christmas and Easter. We leave off the nuts and use the various holiday colored M&M's. My favorites are the peanut and peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roberta Conniff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Delicious! My husband said it was the best cookies he has ever had. I thought they were really tasty. I added jello sugar to make colored/flavored frosting and did not add the chocolate. Just some colored sprinkles. They looked very pretty and tasted as good as they looked. I thought this was an easy recipe that looks deluxe as far as presentation goes. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Richardi Frenette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Randolph, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by WileyP
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
I made these by the recipe, using homemade glaze instead of store-bought frosting. They were a bit on the labor intensive side, but the end results was certainly worth the effort. They are a step above your normal thumbprint cookie! They were lighter than they appeared and I was surprised they were not as overly-sweet as they looked. I'll take a batch to the folks at the chemotherapy clinic tomorrow. Thanks, Michelle9493!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WileyP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnetka, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
We have had this recipe in our family for years, as well, and love it!!! A good thing to know, is that if your family has any nut allergies, you can actually make these without rolling them in the egg whites and then the nuts, and they are still spectacular! (And a lot less work!) :) We also like to use seasonal M&M's for these - Easter, Christmas, etc., they are beautiful and tasty any time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Overall tasted good. Recipe is exactly like my thumbprint cookies with raspberry jam. To me the frosting and chocolate covered peanut just didn't make sense. Lots of work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
My mom used to make the jam thumbprints for the holidays. This is a cute and sweet rendition of her recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
I remember these cookies from back in the 70's. It's always been a favorite..it's simple and the results are always a hit. They're especially pretty when you add red or green food coloring to frosting...very festive. Try them...you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I made these one year for Christmas and our good friend, went nuts over these. His birthday just passed and I made them for him, again. I had to make them two days in a row. Everyone loved them and couldn't get enough. On the holidays add some coordinating sprinkles to the frosting to match the holiday. I added kisses to the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This recipe was easy to make and it suits any purpose, not just Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookies Across America

See how you and your friends can decorate cookies for a good cause.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States