Sister Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
slaw is all about the dressing and this was good. i ran out of balsamic so used about 1/4 c. balsamic and 1/4 c. red wine vinegar, then added about 2 TB extra sugar -- not sure if that would've been necessary otherwise. i also added the whole lime like someone suggested, which may have been another reason some extra sugar was needed. used only 1/4 c. olive oil and that was fine for me. i had TONS of kale and no cabbage, proving this would be good on any fresh crunchy vegetables! added some canned black beans to the top and made it an easy healthy meal to drag to work. thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bumpass, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cottonwood, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elizabeth
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I used kale, apples and green onions because I had it all on hand and we loved this! I also added some poppyseeds to the dressing to give some bite. This turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA
Living In: Delray Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
I wish I would have read the nutrition information and the reviews before I made this. The flavor is delightful and refreshing (the kale is well balanced with the onion, lime, and the vinegar) but I would have liked to have it be less fat. Next time I will definitely decrease the oil since the salad has quite a bit of dressing at the bottom of the bowl. I think even my teenagers will be pleased with this as a veggie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nat_Kristina
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Loved it! I used 2 shredded red beets instead of the cabbage and added in some pumpkin spice candied sunflower seeds (cinnamon, ginger, nutmeg, cloves, cayenne pepper, black pepper and honey, and then roasted in the oven. Cool before adding to slaw). Also, I left out the salt. Rave reviews by all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Delicious! A big hit every time I make it and super nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This is one of our favourite side dishes in the winter, as the ingredients are easy to find at the market (or my garden) well past growing season. We probably eat it weekly or bi-weekly. If I'm feeling fancy I add feta, dried cranberries and almonds, but the base is delicious on it's own too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This recipe was good, but like other reviewers noted, there is way too much oil in the dressing recipe. I used half the amount of oil and doubled the amount of maple syrup and I think it turned out much better. Blue cheese, walnuts, and cranberries are a great addition to this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I thought it was wonderful! I am always looking for Gluten fee recipes and this one fits the bill! Very colorful, looks inviting to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made a variation of this for Easter Brunch and my family loved it. I used kale, red cabbage, green beans, carrots, and broccoli stem. I also added garlic, black sesame seeds, and sunflower seeds. Also only marinated for about an hour. Thank you for the great base recipe that can be tweaked to your own specifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Didn't work for us...kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States