Sister Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2010
Since kale is so bitter I added a bit more maple syrup than the recipe called for as well as toasted walnuts and dried cranberries. It was fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lellybug

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Fantastic! I made a big bowl thinking it would last us for a few meals but no, we ate it all in one supper! The kale I used had purple spines, not sure what variety that is, and it was so pretty. I also cut down on prep time by using bagged carrot slaw and I threw some chicken in to make it a complete meal. I only marinated it for about four hours and it was perfect. I am going to be making this for two family reunions this summer and can't wait to hear the rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HECTORBOYARDEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
Awesome! Made it all organic! This could be a meal for our family!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I use less onion, season to taste and add toasted rough chopped almonds. We enjoy this as a side dish as well as a main dish by adding smoked salmon and Pecorino Romano. Easy and healthy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I love this slaw with kale from my local farmers market. I usually substitute brocoli slaw instead of the cabbage and carrots. I use organic sugar instead of maple syrup. Also have used red wine vinegar instead of balsamic. Great healthy salad for the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Tastes good, Smells good, very pretty! Very fresh! I added juice from a whole lime, used a 1/4 of an onion, and a generous amount of maple syrup. I also added some toasted seseamee seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2009
In the midwest they make vegatables larger! I only used 1/2 of a cabbage and 1/2 of a "bunch" of kale. This recipe does not need the full 2/3 cup oil, about 1/2 cup should do nicely. Otherwise, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Pahl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harvard, Illinois, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This was just average for us. It sounded so interesting, but nothing about it made me say Wow. It needs something to vary the texture--some pine nuts or walnuts would be nice, and maybe some sun-dried tomatoes. Otherwise, it was a bit boring. Thanks, anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Yum! Did reduce the oil by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheeling, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Excellent way to use Kale! I did reduce the amount of olive oil because my husband and I are watching our calories lately. Simply delicious, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lou's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States