Sister Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was a fantastic dish, but only with some modifications to the recipe to make it that way; hence, I deducted stars. I used all quantities and ingredients indicated and followed the recipe steps exactly, except that I used equal amounts of oil and vinegar, as other reviewers suggested. If I had not followed this suggestion, the dish would have been overwhelmingly oily. After letting the slaw marinate, I tasted it for salt and pepper (I had added the pinch of each, as suggested in the recipe, when I mixed it earlier). I found that I needed to add 1/2 tsp. salt and 1/4 tsp. pepper to the slaw to make it edible; otherwise, it would have been completely bland. With the modifications listed above, this dish was the hit of my family's Christmas gathering. We ate it for two more days, and it remained crunchy and delicious. It was the perfect dish to balance out the heavier foods of a Christmas dinner, and I'll be making it again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This was very good. I added toasted walnuts, craisins, and feta. I thought it was bland without the feta and divine with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
Really great recipe, have made it several times with all the kale we get in our CSA. I never thought I would enjoy raw kale so much! I usually halve the recipe using kale OR cabbage and use equal amounts of oil and vinegar. It's also fun swapping in new ingredients to try. The flavors are just fantastic. I've found that massaging the dressing by hand into the salad is important in spreading the flavor around. I've never had time to marinate it -- I bet it would be even better if I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Yummy. The contrast in flavors between the lemon juice, sweet flavor, and the vegetables makes an incredible dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazyliblady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Fantastic! I made a big bowl thinking it would last us for a few meals but no, we ate it all in one supper! The kale I used had purple spines, not sure what variety that is, and it was so pretty. I also cut down on prep time by using bagged carrot slaw and I threw some chicken in to make it a complete meal. I only marinated it for about four hours and it was perfect. I am going to be making this for two family reunions this summer and can't wait to hear the rave reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HECTORBOYARDEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
Great salad that has become a standard in our winter diet. Easy to make, nutritious and yummy! What more could you ask for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I use less onion, season to taste and add toasted rough chopped almonds. We enjoy this as a side dish as well as a main dish by adding smoked salmon and Pecorino Romano. Easy and healthy. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Tastes good, Smells good, very pretty! Very fresh! I added juice from a whole lime, used a 1/4 of an onion, and a generous amount of maple syrup. I also added some toasted seseamee seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
This is fantastic! I followed recipe exactly and added a package of chopped dates and ~1/2 cup of slivered almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I love this slaw with kale from my local farmers market. I usually substitute brocoli slaw instead of the cabbage and carrots. I use organic sugar instead of maple syrup. Also have used red wine vinegar instead of balsamic. Great healthy salad for the winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States