Sister Slaw Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Delicious! A big hit every time I make it and super nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
This is one of our favourite side dishes in the winter, as the ingredients are easy to find at the market (or my garden) well past growing season. We probably eat it weekly or bi-weekly. If I'm feeling fancy I add feta, dried cranberries and almonds, but the base is delicious on it's own too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This recipe was good, but like other reviewers noted, there is way too much oil in the dressing recipe. I used half the amount of oil and doubled the amount of maple syrup and I think it turned out much better. Blue cheese, walnuts, and cranberries are a great addition to this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama411

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I thought it was wonderful! I am always looking for Gluten fee recipes and this one fits the bill! Very colorful, looks inviting to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Laurel, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I made a variation of this for Easter Brunch and my family loved it. I used kale, red cabbage, green beans, carrots, and broccoli stem. I also added garlic, black sesame seeds, and sunflower seeds. Also only marinated for about an hour. Thank you for the great base recipe that can be tweaked to your own specifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Didn't work for us...kind of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Krissy707
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Really loved this! As others suggested, I reduced the oil, added craisins and sliced almonds. I wish the amounts were more specific. I purchased the kale in a bag, so I just guessed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2013
Very, very good. Nice to have something this fresh tasting using cabbage. The kale really makes this something special - not just coleslaw. That fact that it keeps well for several days is great too. Like some others I cut the oil in half. And was out of real maple syrup so I just used corn syrup instead (high fructose! bad!). The flavour woud be only slightly changed by the omission of the maple syrup, I think. One tsp in all that balsamic vinegar would be hard to taste. But I will use it another time. I also added feta and roasted almonds and pecans as we served it. Yummy. Even better the next day for lunch with chicken breast cut up in it. Thanks for posting this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
only had kale and added slivered red pepper. Did not have limes, used white balsamic. Used some brown sugar becuase I was skeptical of the syrup. But I did add the syrup at the last minute as well. This was a really yummy salad. Even my husband loved it and he does not usually eat kale!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naverymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moberly, Missouri, USA
Living In: La Grange, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Very good base recipe, but needed a little something. I added a shredded granny smith apple and an extra tablespoon of lime juice. Very good, but I think it can still be improved. Next time, I will add another granny smith apple and/or golden raisins, plus almonds for crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Broccoli Slaw

This easy broccoli salad will be a star at your next potluck or family dinner.

Sweet Restaurant Slaw

See how to make coleslaw just like the creamy restaurant slaw you love!

Angie's Dad's Best Cabbage Coleslaw

This irresistible coleslaw is more tart and tangy than creamy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States