Sister Schubert's® Chicken Pot Pie with Bread Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I made this recipe tonight for a big group, except that I used the filling for stuffed bread instead of a pot pie, and it was tremendous. My guests were very impressed and I think everyone ate second or third servings. Thank you so much for an excellent recipe - This one is going into the family recipe book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
With all due respect to Sister Schubert's dinner rolls, I much prefer this with a puff pastry sheet as the crust. It's really no harder to make a lot, than a little, so I make it in a double or triple batch, freeze the extra filling and assemble with the puff pastry when I pull it out for a relatively easy meal down the line. I've used any number of different vegetables in the mix, and everything I've thrown in has worked well. This has become a standard in our dinner rotation and one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by steggysue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cary, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Followed recipe exactly and this one is a keeper. There was none leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
OK, this was delicious! I, too, used ground mustard and added 1/2 tsp. of marjoram. I also went with the puffed pastry crust. This could work with any type of crust. The filling is SO rich and tasty! My boys wanted me to make it for their birthday dinners!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Tastes great, easy to make, smells mouth watering when cooking. BIG hit with family. 1 drawback - rolls on top as a crust tasted more like croutons. Would recommend using a ready-made pie crust to place on top or making one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
My husband really enjoyed it. He loves Chicken Pot Pie. I have never had it before therefore I am still not sure if I like it or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was very good and easy to make. The only thing I didn't like was that the topping is so crusty, but my husband loved it this way. I will definitely make this again. Saved time and used a baked chicken from the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
YUM! YUM! YUM! Double the recipe and still ended up with only one serving of leftovers. Will DEFINITELY makes again. Used half and half instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I love this recipe for utilizing so much of my "leftovers"!! I did not have Mushrooms [so I omitted them, besides, the boy hates them!] nor did I feel like running to the store for the bread topping, so we whipped up a batch of Bisquik dough and rolled that over the pan. Otherwise, everything else was followed to a T. I even got to finally use my homemade chicken broth that I'd been dying to try! I was skeptical at first that the sauce was too runny but it turned out to be perfect later. This was downright DELICIOUS. So satisfying, yummy, homemade, and worth every effort [and it's still easy!] My boyfriend and I devoured half of the contents of the 9x13 pan in the first sitting. The rest made for awesome leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was just what I was looking for. I had most of the ingredients and was looking for the perfect recipe. My whole family loved it! My kids even reheated it for a snack later on. The only change I made was I used fat free half and half instead of cream, which is what I had on hand and I did not add the optional green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States