Sister Schubert's® Chicken Pot Pie with Bread Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Katie Compton
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
with a few modifications this was a great meal. I felt it was a little heavy on the thyme i think a 1/4 tsp would have been just right. I added 1/4 tsp of marjoram (dried) and did a puff pastery crust, 400' oven for about 20mins. Will definetly make this again. Little idea, make the mix and put in a ziplock container or baggy and freeze it. have puff pastery on hand and when your ready, defrost it and assemble. Happy cooking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie Compton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: White Oak, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
This was really good. I did not have dijon mustard and used ground mustard instead and it was delish! It is rather time consuming and involved for a pot pie recipe but I think it's worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Great recipe! We're snowed in, so I had to make do with what was on hand, but it still turned out delish! I used fresh mushrooms instead of canned, fat free half & half instead of cream, stone ground mustard instead of Dijon, and a 16 oz bag of frozen peas & carrots. Used my bread machine to make bread dough and dotted that evenly over the top. A deluxe homemade pot pie without the labor intense pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinderelly007

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
YUM! YUM! YUM! Double the recipe and still ended up with only one serving of leftovers. Will DEFINITELY makes again. Used half and half instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
My husband really enjoyed it. He loves Chicken Pot Pie. I have never had it before therefore I am still not sure if I like it or not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This was very good and easy to make. The only thing I didn't like was that the topping is so crusty, but my husband loved it this way. I will definitely make this again. Saved time and used a baked chicken from the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Tastes great, easy to make, smells mouth watering when cooking. BIG hit with family. 1 drawback - rolls on top as a crust tasted more like croutons. Would recommend using a ready-made pie crust to place on top or making one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I love this recipe for utilizing so much of my "leftovers"!! I did not have Mushrooms [so I omitted them, besides, the boy hates them!] nor did I feel like running to the store for the bread topping, so we whipped up a batch of Bisquik dough and rolled that over the pan. Otherwise, everything else was followed to a T. I even got to finally use my homemade chicken broth that I'd been dying to try! I was skeptical at first that the sauce was too runny but it turned out to be perfect later. This was downright DELICIOUS. So satisfying, yummy, homemade, and worth every effort [and it's still easy!] My boyfriend and I devoured half of the contents of the 9x13 pan in the first sitting. The rest made for awesome leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angelika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was just what I was looking for. I had most of the ingredients and was looking for the perfect recipe. My whole family loved it! My kids even reheated it for a snack later on. The only change I made was I used fat free half and half instead of cream, which is what I had on hand and I did not add the optional green beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hawthorne, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Fair Lawn, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I followed the directions and this recipe did not turn out! And it tasted awful! I will never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States