Sister Schubert's® Breakfast Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Great casserole! People were shocked to know it is made from dinner rolls. Spinach is a great addition and the flavors are nicely developed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2013
Do not change anything! I have made it twice, once full size, once half size and it is by far the best breakfast casserole I have ever tasted. I couldn't find the wheat Sister Shubert wheat rolls so I got the SS plain dinner ones and I don't think it made any difference. Lots of compliments :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EraErica

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This is a good casserole. The wheat sister Schubert rolls give this dish a sweeter flavor. It is very good. I did substitute cooked ham instead of the sausage and it worked well. I also substituted whole milk for half of the half and half. Next time I probably won't use half and half at all. The milk was fine. I will also use one less roll and add 2 eggs for less bread. This was good and we all enjoyed it- I'm sure it will be better with the changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
Wonderful! Made this for the first for a pitch in at work and everyone loved it! I used white rolls as I didn't have wheat and I sauteed the onions and spinach in butter instead of oil. I squeezed as much water as possible out of the spinach/onions. I also put the sausage in a collander and let it drain while fixing the other components then took paper towel to it and got even more grease off. The casserole was moist and very flavorful. I was skeptical about the hot sauce but I used it and it tasted great! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This recipe was amazing. I used Maple flavored sausage which added a sweet flavor and was sooo good. I also just sauteed the vegetables in the remaining grease after cooking the meat (instead of MORE oil). I also used a combo of fat free half and half and whole milk... I will definitely be making this recipe again. SOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pathos57
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
I made this recipe exactly as written. This was for a holiday brunch with family & while I am a big fan of spinach, I worried that picky eaters might not like it. I needn't have been concerned. This was a huge hit and I know I will make this again & again. Note: I made sure to cut off large stems & veins in the spinach before cooking (they're unpalatable) & drained/blotted the spinach with paper towels rather than a tea towel. This type of recipe is very forgiving & adjustable to taste, but I found that just as it is, it's a nice blend & layering of flavors. Don't be afraid of the hot sauce, it adds a subtle but nice contrast to the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pathos57

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florence, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Amazing! Had this for dinner and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
Made this last night and baked it this morning for a party at work. Everybody loved it! Really delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Great recipe! Even my picky kids loved it! The only changes I made was for convenience as I wanted to use what I had in my fridge. I used 2% milk instead of half & half. For the bread I used the sweet Hawaiian rolls and it was delicious! The mild sweet balanced the salt from the sausage. Lastly I added bacon crumbles to the top for some crunch. Overall great recipe and I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Very flavorful! Made this the night before and got tons of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenleaf, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Mom's Breakfast Strata

A savory strata with ham, mushrooms, peppers, and melted Cheddar.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States