Sirloin Marinara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2005
This dish is deceivingly delicous!!! When I told my boyfriend I was making it for dinner he wasn't too sure about pasta sauce over steak but after he tried it he couldn't believe the unique taste it had. The juices from the steak along with the wine totally change the flavor of the pasta sauce (I used chunky mushroom). I did cut the pasta sauce down to 1 1/2 cups and sauteed the garlic with the onions, and served it over garlic mashed potatoes as suggested. It was WONDERFUL!! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
I can't say enough good things about this recipe. Not only was it delicious it was so simple to put together. I can see myself making this at least two or three times a month. Thank you SO much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Campbell, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
This recipe is delicious. I serve it frequently over garlic mashed potatoes. Sometimes for a quick meal, I evev use the instant garlic mashed. The sauce has a wonderful flavor that transforms itself and tastes nothing like the original pasta sauce. I also was worried that it would taste like "spaghetti sauce with steak strips", but it doesn't. It's a great recipe and part of our monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Wonderful recipe! The wine is key, I think, in making this not taste like pasta sauce on beef. I did mine in the crockpot (with no precooking) and it tasted wonderful. Served over a garlic mashed cauliflower/potato combo with steamed green beans on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This is awesome when served on top garlic mashed potatoes; I wouldn't have it any other way! I've never had this turn out tasting like spaghetti sauce, and always use Ragu Chunky with Mushrooms. Sometimes I add mushrooms too, after the onions start to caramelize. If you find this tasting like spaghetti sauce, as some reviewers have experienced, try adding in a beef bullion cube as it simmers... also stay away from basil-rich sauces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xia Neifion Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
Decent, but not great. I did not serve it with the potatoes, as suggested but with noodles. This MAY have contributed to it tasting like spaghetti with a different type of meat. But really, I don't think the potatoes would have made that much of a difference. We did like this, but honestly, with the cheaper price of ground beef, I think I may stick with that instead of the expensive steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2000
An absolutely wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Great recipe, definitely a keeper! Watch cooking time though; I used thin slices and I like med rare steak so I cut the sauteeing and simmering time by about half. Thanks Lanelle for a simple and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
My husband and I tried this recipe out for a dinner party. We ran out of time in our preparation and weren't able to have it with the garlic mashed potatoes as planned. To be honest, we were not that impressed. It tasted like spaghetti with sirloin instead of meatballs. Probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2000
Made this with left over steak, worked greay over noodles.Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Herb-Rubbed Sirloin Tip Roast

This easy mix of spices makes your roast something truly special.

Sensational Sirloin Kabobs

Sirloin steak cubes marinated in a soy-based sauce and grilled with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States