Sirloin Marinara Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 16, 2008
This was great! And easy to make! I cut the meat into bite sized pieces and added some cut up asparagus. Served it over pasta with parmesan cheese and cheesy garlic bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This wasn't bad, just nothing to write home about. Everyone thought it would be best over noodles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Wonderful recipe! The wine is key, I think, in making this not taste like pasta sauce on beef. I did mine in the crockpot (with no precooking) and it tasted wonderful. Served over a garlic mashed cauliflower/potato combo with steamed green beans on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
Made this in a big hurry one night. The wife and I were truly surprised at how good it was! We didn't use store bought pasta sauce though ...rather made our own batch using tomato sauce and spices. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Druhda

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This is awesome when served on top garlic mashed potatoes; I wouldn't have it any other way! I've never had this turn out tasting like spaghetti sauce, and always use Ragu Chunky with Mushrooms. Sometimes I add mushrooms too, after the onions start to caramelize. If you find this tasting like spaghetti sauce, as some reviewers have experienced, try adding in a beef bullion cube as it simmers... also stay away from basil-rich sauces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Xia Neifion Clark

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: East Wenatchee, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2007
I was very pleased with this recipe. I could not tell that I had made it with spaghetti sauce at all! It was very tangy and flavorful. I tried to use one of my better wines because I was using store bought sauce but I think it would have been good regardless. I too made garlic mashed potatoes and it was awesome. My husband devoured it. It was VERY simple and quick to make too. No doubt that this will be a frequent dinner at my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sugar Land, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2007
Pretty good - I had leftover steak so I used it instead of uncooked. Someone suggested caramelizing the onions so I did and that was yummy. I liked the red wine too - added some depth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
tried it and it was good. it didn't taste like spaghetti sauce with steak in it the way i made it. I sauteed the onions for much longer, pretty much caramelizing them before throwing in garlic, and then the meat. then i used a regular marinara sauce and about a cup of red wine. i served it over rotini or bowtie pasta instead of mashed potatoes or spaghetti and it was pretty good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Very good! Browned the beef in two batches to help it along. Instead of "pasta sauce", used a large can of crushed tomatos and jazzed it up with some herbs. We had it over pasta and now want to try it over the potatos (sounds really good). HEARTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
Yum! We liked this, and will have it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sirloin Steak with Garlic Butter

See how to make grilled sirloin steak with a luscious garlic and butter sauce.

Herb-Rubbed Sirloin Tip Roast

This easy mix of spices makes your roast something truly special.

Sensational Sirloin Kabobs

Sirloin steak cubes marinated in a soy-based sauce and grilled with vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States