Sirecz (Easter Cheese) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
After my mother showed me how to make Easter cheese last year, she passed away 3 months later. Then I could not remember how to make the recipe. With Easter time approaching now, I became upset because I wanted to carry on this tradition. So, thanks to this recipe entry, I can now make my own Easter cheese for my family! It's quite fun to make but it does take some muscle to ring out the cheese...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
aka THE MOON!! Thanks so much for posting this, my grandmother's recipe that I thought our family would never find again. It's seems to be exactly as I remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
This is a very excellent recipe! It is also a very old recipe.I got it from my hungarian grand mother many years ago.I thought I lost it forever in a move and have been searching for it ever since. Thank you for adding this recipe to this sight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
THANK YOU!!!! THANK YOU!!!! This is the same recipe that my grandmother made when I was younger. Unfortunatly it passed on with her and I was at a loss. This one tastes the same as I remember it from years ago. The nutmeg actually makes pwople go "Hmmm, what is that?". Thank you again and I will save this and pass it down to my daughters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Thank you for posting this i too had a nanny who used to make this every easter and she is gone now since 96 and i lost her recipe for this now i have it back again Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grants, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
this receipe has been in my family for years. but mine is quart of milk, tsp vannelilla, adozon of eggs, suger to taste. great i am the only one that stll makes it. i have used equal to thanks, joy kocher
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is like the Easter cheese my Nonni used to make only she didn't put the sugar and nutmeg in it. She used to serve homemade pickled beets with hers also. I really like this version! Thank you for the recipe. I will keep the tradition going!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This is the same as what my Hungarian grandmother made, but she added golden raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This turned out nice the first try. Lightly sweet and easy to make. A great alternative to chocolate for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweets

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I use a flour sack style towel for mine, It makes a smoother outside than the cheesecloth. My granny's and mother in law hung theirs outside on the line for a couple hours but I have to get creative since the days before Easter tend to rain here. I usually cut the sugar in half and do not add vanilla or other flavorings. I have always used the electric mixer with no problems. I also found I didn't really need a double boiler as long as you stir constantly. It burns quite easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Natural Easter Egg Dyes

See how to make natural egg dye using food products you probably have on hand!

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Easter Chick Deviled Eggs

A delicious deviled egg recipe gets a cute-for-Easter makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States