Sirecz (Easter Cheese) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This is the same as what my Hungarian grandmother made, but she added golden raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This is the same recipe my family makes for Pascha; we call it hrudka. We have an additional step, though. After the hrudka has firmed up and been refrigerated for awhile, put it into a pan or onto a cookie sheet, top with a good pat of butter, and broil until the top browns. Let it cool, rewrap, and refrigerate again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
My mom made this every year for Easter, but she never used sugar or vanilla or nutmeg, only a little salt. We loved it paired with ham on a sandwhich. Also, she told me never to used an electic mixer for the eggs but I dont know why. Also, I find it is an acquired taste, but I have to have it out at Easter, along with the horseradish beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is like the Easter cheese my Nonni used to make only she didn't put the sugar and nutmeg in it. She used to serve homemade pickled beets with hers also. I really like this version! Thank you for the recipe. I will keep the tradition going!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
this receipe has been in my family for years. but mine is quart of milk, tsp vannelilla, adozon of eggs, suger to taste. great i am the only one that stll makes it. i have used equal to thanks, joy kocher
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I use a flour sack style towel for mine, It makes a smoother outside than the cheesecloth. My granny's and mother in law hung theirs outside on the line for a couple hours but I have to get creative since the days before Easter tend to rain here. I usually cut the sugar in half and do not add vanilla or other flavorings. I have always used the electric mixer with no problems. I also found I didn't really need a double boiler as long as you stir constantly. It burns quite easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
After my mother showed me how to make Easter cheese last year, she passed away 3 months later. Then I could not remember how to make the recipe. With Easter time approaching now, I became upset because I wanted to carry on this tradition. So, thanks to this recipe entry, I can now make my own Easter cheese for my family! It's quite fun to make but it does take some muscle to ring out the cheese...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This turned out nice the first try. Lightly sweet and easy to make. A great alternative to chocolate for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweets

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Thank you for posting this i too had a nanny who used to make this every easter and she is gone now since 96 and i lost her recipe for this now i have it back again Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grants, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
aka THE MOON!! Thanks so much for posting this, my grandmother's recipe that I thought our family would never find again. It's seems to be exactly as I remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States