Sirecz (Easter Cheese) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This turned out nice the first try. Lightly sweet and easy to make. A great alternative to chocolate for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweets

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This is the same as what my Hungarian grandmother made, but she added golden raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is like the Easter cheese my Nonni used to make only she didn't put the sugar and nutmeg in it. She used to serve homemade pickled beets with hers also. I really like this version! Thank you for the recipe. I will keep the tradition going!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
this receipe has been in my family for years. but mine is quart of milk, tsp vannelilla, adozon of eggs, suger to taste. great i am the only one that stll makes it. i have used equal to thanks, joy kocher
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This is the same recipe my family makes for Pascha; we call it hrudka. We have an additional step, though. After the hrudka has firmed up and been refrigerated for awhile, put it into a pan or onto a cookie sheet, top with a good pat of butter, and broil until the top browns. Let it cool, rewrap, and refrigerate again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Thank you for posting this i too had a nanny who used to make this every easter and she is gone now since 96 and i lost her recipe for this now i have it back again Thank you so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grants, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2007
THANK YOU!!!! THANK YOU!!!! This is the same recipe that my grandmother made when I was younger. Unfortunatly it passed on with her and I was at a loss. This one tastes the same as I remember it from years ago. The nutmeg actually makes pwople go "Hmmm, what is that?". Thank you again and I will save this and pass it down to my daughters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
This is a very excellent recipe! It is also a very old recipe.I got it from my hungarian grand mother many years ago.I thought I lost it forever in a move and have been searching for it ever since. Thank you for adding this recipe to this sight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mission, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2004
aka THE MOON!! Thanks so much for posting this, my grandmother's recipe that I thought our family would never find again. It's seems to be exactly as I remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
After my mother showed me how to make Easter cheese last year, she passed away 3 months later. Then I could not remember how to make the recipe. With Easter time approaching now, I became upset because I wanted to carry on this tradition. So, thanks to this recipe entry, I can now make my own Easter cheese for my family! It's quite fun to make but it does take some muscle to ring out the cheese...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Natural Easter Egg Dyes

See how to make natural egg dye using food products you probably have on hand!

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Easter Chick Deviled Eggs

A delicious deviled egg recipe gets a cute-for-Easter makeover.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States