Sirecz (Easter Cheese) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
THANK YOU!!!!!!! I am sooooo excited to make this for my husband. His Mom used to make this for him every Easter.She has passed away and I could not find her recipe anywhere. GOD BLESS YOU!!!!!! Nunny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
My German Baba (with a Polish husband) called this Yi-etch-nik. Made it just with a dozen eggs, a quart of milk and some salt. Served with ham, boiled bacon, and the ever popular grated red beets with horseradish. Will try this version this year, if I can still wring out the cheesecloth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
I was in TEARS (of joy) when I found this recipe! The hardest part was the spelling, as my Grandma's pronunciation 'SI-DIK,' very heavy on the r and cz, making it difficult to find! Grandma made this religiously, and I never got the recipe because it was something that I could 'take or leave!' But then my brothers started missing it, and I was compelled to find it. How she managed, at 89, to still wring the cheesecloth is beyond me, but God Bless HER, she is my inspiration for all things culinary. I have been making it for 3 years now, and will continue the tradition FOREVER, and serve it on ham sandwiches (with horseradish), and pair it with her homemade pickled beets and eggs!!!! Thank you LORRIE28!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zerodramamama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Burgettstown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I use a flour sack style towel for mine, It makes a smoother outside than the cheesecloth. My granny's and mother in law hung theirs outside on the line for a couple hours but I have to get creative since the days before Easter tend to rain here. I usually cut the sugar in half and do not add vanilla or other flavorings. I have always used the electric mixer with no problems. I also found I didn't really need a double boiler as long as you stir constantly. It burns quite easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
My mom made this every year for Easter, but she never used sugar or vanilla or nutmeg, only a little salt. We loved it paired with ham on a sandwhich. Also, she told me never to used an electic mixer for the eggs but I dont know why. Also, I find it is an acquired taste, but I have to have it out at Easter, along with the horseradish beets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This turned out nice the first try. Lightly sweet and easy to make. A great alternative to chocolate for Easter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweets

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
This is the same as what my Hungarian grandmother made, but she added golden raisins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This is like the Easter cheese my Nonni used to make only she didn't put the sugar and nutmeg in it. She used to serve homemade pickled beets with hers also. I really like this version! Thank you for the recipe. I will keep the tradition going!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
this receipe has been in my family for years. but mine is quart of milk, tsp vannelilla, adozon of eggs, suger to taste. great i am the only one that stll makes it. i have used equal to thanks, joy kocher
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plymouth, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2007
This is the same recipe my family makes for Pascha; we call it hrudka. We have an additional step, though. After the hrudka has firmed up and been refrigerated for awhile, put it into a pan or onto a cookie sheet, top with a good pat of butter, and broil until the top browns. Let it cool, rewrap, and refrigerate again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Goat Cheese Apple Walnut Pasta

See how to make a quick and delicious pasta side dish.

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States