Sioux Indian Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2000
My boyfriend mentioned in passing, how much he liked Indian Pudding. I'd never heard of, eaten, or even seen Indian Pudding. As a surprise, I made this recipe...and loved it. It takes a while to cook it, but my boyfriend said it was "just like Moms." I loved it with Vanilla ice cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2002
I had this for dessert at a restaurant and loved it. I looked everywhere for a recipe. I finally found this recipe, and it tasted exactly the same as the restaurant's. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
Thanks for this recipe. This was as good as ones I had as a little girl! Keep stirring the milk mixture as mine burned a bit with the molasses at the bottom of the pan. However, the burnt bottom did not transfer it's taste into the pudding. Serve with heavy whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Wow. A nice thing to whip up; it's unbelieveably easy to make, and is a lovely textured treat. I only had demerara sugar, so there was a STRONG molasses taste, but I liked that. My boyfriend said he would give it a miss, and the next time I looked, he'd taken two pieces, one after another! Gues he liked it too... ;) You could probably substitute honey for the molasses if you don't like such a strong flavour. I'll give that a go next time & report back...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
I really like this pudding. It has a very nice custard consistency. The molasses flavor is strong, but I like molasses a lot. It is time consuming though. My pudding came out very sweet because I was short on molasses, so I substituted brown sugar for the white sugar. The original recipe is probably not so sweet. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
WOW is right! Like RELI8 suggested, I used honey instead of molasses because thats all I had. It turned out great! An interesting and yummy texture. I will definately make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
Great recipe!! I took the advice of some others and used half honey & half molasses to lighted the molasses flavor. I will be using this recipe for a multicultural event we have coming up----tastes just like Grandma's!!! Thanks for sharing! :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
I made this for my boyfriend. He thought it was the best Indian Pudding he has ever had. Just the best, came out exactly as described. Send in more great recipe's. Thanks again Cathy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
I also prefer it to be made using half honey, half molasses. I make it pretty often, we love it so much. A great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I liked this recipe a lot! I tried substituting half of the molasses with honey, but didn't have any so I used half pancake syrup (that's all I had!) and half molasses. It turned out great! Also, instead of using whole milk, I used 2% and it came out wonderful. I put some fat free whip cream on top and it was yummy! Mine didn't turn out gritty at all like one reviewer said. It was actually very smooth. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States