Sioux Indian Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I love Indian Pudding, and have always had a hard time cooking it. One thing i did learn from a cheif in the family, was when you put it into the oven to bake, put it into a larger pan, or baking dish, filled with water, it helps so the middle isn't runnie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newport, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
I used this recipie in a cultural presentation for my college nursing class. At first I thought no one would touch it, but instead everyone loved it! It has a different texture than expected, and you must like molasses. Also I think its much better served cold than hot....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2006
I liked this recipe a lot! I tried substituting half of the molasses with honey, but didn't have any so I used half pancake syrup (that's all I had!) and half molasses. It turned out great! Also, instead of using whole milk, I used 2% and it came out wonderful. I put some fat free whip cream on top and it was yummy! Mine didn't turn out gritty at all like one reviewer said. It was actually very smooth. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Had several recipes for this, but none the same as my grandmothers, this is it, except she used pumkin pie spice instead of ginger. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jewell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morrison, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Agra, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2000
My boyfriend mentioned in passing, how much he liked Indian Pudding. I'd never heard of, eaten, or even seen Indian Pudding. As a surprise, I made this recipe...and loved it. It takes a while to cook it, but my boyfriend said it was "just like Moms." I loved it with Vanilla ice cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
Wow. A nice thing to whip up; it's unbelieveably easy to make, and is a lovely textured treat. I only had demerara sugar, so there was a STRONG molasses taste, but I liked that. My boyfriend said he would give it a miss, and the next time I looked, he'd taken two pieces, one after another! Gues he liked it too... ;) You could probably substitute honey for the molasses if you don't like such a strong flavour. I'll give that a go next time & report back...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
My family really liked this pudding. I served it warm with vanilla ice cream. My husband said it reminded him of pumpkin pie. I followed the ingredients exactly (used 1% milk since it didn't specify) but I baked the pudding in 4 (10 oz.) ramekins. It set up perfectly. I think maybe the people that had trouble with setting up didn't cook it on the stove long enough. You have to bring it to a full rolling boil and stir constantly until it is very thick, almost like oatmeal. It took the full 10 minutes of cooking to get thick enough. If you miss that step no matter how long you bake it in the oven it will not set up. This was a great comfort food and I will absolutely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I tried this recipe and I loved it and it made the house smell great when it was baking in the oven. I also put a big scoop of brighams vanalla ice cream on it. It was a perfect desert for a cold winter day. I am wondering if I should try it next time with apples or nuts or raisens. It came out of the oven solid on the top but soft on the inside and since this is the first time I tried it I do not know if that is the way it is suppose to turn out but I liked and I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2004
I really like this pudding. It has a very nice custard consistency. The molasses flavor is strong, but I like molasses a lot. It is time consuming though. My pudding came out very sweet because I was short on molasses, so I substituted brown sugar for the white sugar. The original recipe is probably not so sweet. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Taste was good....but it never firmed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judith Elwell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States