Sioux Indian Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
My family really liked this pudding. I served it warm with vanilla ice cream. My husband said it reminded him of pumpkin pie. I followed the ingredients exactly (used 1% milk since it didn't specify) but I baked the pudding in 4 (10 oz.) ramekins. It set up perfectly. I think maybe the people that had trouble with setting up didn't cook it on the stove long enough. You have to bring it to a full rolling boil and stir constantly until it is very thick, almost like oatmeal. It took the full 10 minutes of cooking to get thick enough. If you miss that step no matter how long you bake it in the oven it will not set up. This was a great comfort food and I will absolutely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stjchurchcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
I am giving this 5 stars already and its not even out of the oven!! I added 3 cinnamon sticks and ginger and raisins. I'm looking forward to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I tried this recipe and I loved it and it made the house smell great when it was baking in the oven. I also put a big scoop of brighams vanalla ice cream on it. It was a perfect desert for a cold winter day. I am wondering if I should try it next time with apples or nuts or raisens. It came out of the oven solid on the top but soft on the inside and since this is the first time I tried it I do not know if that is the way it is suppose to turn out but I liked and I will make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Taste was good....but it never firmed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Really good and easy to make. Not something I`d serve at a dinner party though. Great for comfort food or in the winter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I followed the directions EXACTLY. After baking 2 hours it's still had not set. The flavor was just OK. Perhaps, if it had set-up firmer and was less runny, it would have looked more appealing. Will not make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Excellent! Loved it. would not change anything
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
It had a nice flavor, but it never really 'set up' for me even after additional time in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Not good. I followed the recipe to the "T". It was runny, somewhat bitter, and my family hated it. I guess I'll have to get Mama's recipe.this just shows that many 5 star reviews do not a sure-fire winner make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
YUM! just like I remember as a child.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Vanilla Pudding

See how to make rich, delectable vanilla pudding from scratch. It's simple!

Chocolate Cornstarch Pudding

See how to make a super-simple, 5-star chocolate pudding.

Meadowwood Tapioca Pudding

See what it takes to make a complete “homestead meal” including tapioca pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States