Siopao (Filipino Steamed Dumplings) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Thanks for the recipe! Siopao is one of my fave! I made this Siopao and it taste good. Though i used all purpose flour. The only problem is that it has too much blisters all around..yellowish to brownish blisters. Looked awful but taste really good. What do you think went wrong? Kindly advise as i want it to look perfect..i feel that im the only one having trouble in my siopao..waiting for all your feedback! Thanks in advance! Tc
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
One thing I forgot to add in my last review is that the cooked dough has a tendency to flatten out as soon as it is out of the steamer. I added extra yeast in the initial dough prep, 1/2 teaspoon more. The dough becomes heavier and a little tougher to knead but you do not have the tackiness anymore. Once steamed, the buns retained their all around shape and the dough spongier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
If the dough gets super crumbly, just add water. It worked for my team. But man, is this work intensive. I also used imitation crab instead of chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by natzsm
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I have been looking around for a siopao or steamed buns recipe which uses rice flour and not the usual all purpose flour so I was really happy to find it here at all recipes. The texture of siopao made with rice flour is a bit heavier and chewier then that made with all purpose flour. This recipe is reminiscent of the siopao being sold at a very popular resto in the Philippines as compared to the ultra light and fluffy siopao varieties being sold elsewhere. Incidentally, I gave this recipe only four stars because I didn't like the filling. The dough I give five stars! Next time, I will just make my own filling. Thank you MCCACJ for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natzsm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Makati, National Capital Region, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
I tried making this with Rice flower, it did not turn out. I did this 5 different times following this recepie to the letter. The rice flower was crumbly and after they were steemed, they were hard. I found they are much better made with all purpose flower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I make a similar version of this recipe, although much simplified for our busy lifestyles. First of all, I make the dough in the breadmaker, using all-purpose flour (just a regular white bread recipe). Second, I use a combination of ground pork and ground beef, and add a dash of Worcestershire sauce to the mixture. I make the meat mixture the night before and refrigerate it because it's much easier to work with when it's cold as well. After assembling the siopao, I rise the whole thing one more time (about 45 minutes) before steaming. My siopao turns out just as good as this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Good recipe! I don't have rice flour but you can use cake flour/all purpose flour with for same result; I used http://www.joyofbaking.com/IngredientSubstitution.html for a conversion matrix. For those that have the dough "crumble apart" add a tablespoon of water to the dough at a time and continue kneading until it becomes slightly tacky to the touch. Note if the dough is too dry it will start to fall apart during steaming. My Husband loves the filling and has already devoured all of them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
julia32, when you activate the yeast make sure the water is warm and not hot...high temperature will kill the yeast and mix in the sugar that is what the yeast eats which causes the dough to rise. Also make sure you are precise with your measurement of the flour. if it is crumbly then there is too much flour. when you knead in that last 1/2 cup do it a little at a time you may not need it all. Hope this helps : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I tried this recipe but I did activate the yeast first by using warm water and adding 1 Tbsp of sugar, set it aside until spongy bubbles appears on top of it. Then you can mix it to the flour mixture. I also let the dough with fillings rise for 15 minutes before steaming it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
help me here.... i just made the dough recipe and it's a mess.... the dough is crumbly and would not form.... the procedures in doing it is not very helpful.... the sponge is not really a sponge but watery.... what kind of recipe is this? I just throw away the dough that i made... it's a waste of my time and money. pls tell me what i did wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Filipino Chicken Adobo

See how to make tangy Filipino-style chicken adobo.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Old Fashioned Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make simple, soul-satisfying chicken and dumplings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States