Single Cup Hot Buttered Rum Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Used hot coffee instead of water. Freakin fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Reeeeeealy nice night cap with the hubs! Made his with lactose free vanilla ice cream and a little caramel topping. Both were delicious! Thanks Laurrie for a great recipe! Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is really, really tasty, and I didn't even have ice cream to add. Instead, I used cream (and Captain Morgan Spiced Rum). It was perfect, except I tripled the recipe and it barely filled two mugs for my husband and me. Definitely double it for one person.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lemon Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
YUMMY!!! I used 2 ounces instead of 1.5 ounces of Captain Morgan's rum and that was the only change I made. This is super easy and really delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Hmmm, well Ive never had hot buttered rum before this, but I find it very watery as is. The second time I tried it, I used hot milk instead of water, which was much better. I guess that's not very *authentic*, but the hot apple juice alternative that people have mentioned sounds terrible. I suppose I should try it anyway before I give up on hot buttered rum altogether... Added later: Forget water or apple juice. Use hot coffee!!! Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
This is a superb recipe. I am now working on my second mug. Lacking the crème brûlée flavor, I tried mixing in a bit of powdered cocoa. Alternatively, as noted by Mark Bittman in his cookbook, when nothing else is at hand one can get the "brûlée" part by blasting some sugar with a propane torch until it bubbles and browns. Then, add cream and presto: the crème brûlée ice cream effect. Happy New Year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roman
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2010
Just the thing for a snowy Nrw Year's eve. I used Vanilla ice cream ('cause it was there), and a healthy double of Meyer's Dark rum. I'm gonna work out a way to prepare this one on my Jetboil stove for XC ski outings. ByeBye! S.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Labman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Palmer Lake, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Fantastic! I was about to experiment on small portions of hot buttered rum batter myself. This has saved me lots of time :-) I used clotted cream ice cream and it was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I was so glad to find this single cup recipe. I used 2 tb Appleton Rum (because it has nice flavor) and plain vanilla ice cream. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Bsaically very good. It is just a little too sweet for me between the sugar and ice cream. I would make again/just cut back on the sugar a little
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hot Buttered Rum Batter

Batter up! It’s hot buttered rum when you need it.

Hot Toddy Cocktail

See how to make this classic winter warmer.

Rum Rickey Cocktail

A refreshing summer classic starring rum, lime juice, and a splash of soda.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States