Single Crust Peach Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
I followed recipe exactly. I even drained the peaches for awhile. It was just mush.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Roussel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
One of the best peach pies I have had/made. I did doubled the topping mix, added a 1/2 tsp cinnamon and tossed the peaches in about 1/2 cup flour (no need to drain them then saving all the yummy juice.) I put 1/4 of the topping in first, added the peaches and then put the rest of the topping on. Cooked just as instructed and it turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
We loved this pie! Peaches aren't in season in Colorado just yet so I used frozen peaches that I thawed but left slightly slushy. I coated the peaches with about 1/3 c flour and 1/4 c of sugar along with some Cinnamon and nutmeg since I knew they would have extra moisture being they were previously frozen and I also knew they wouldn't be near as sweet as fresh peaches. Other than that I left the recipe as is and doubled it to make 2 pies. We loved loved loved it. The topping got nice and crunchy and has a lovely flavor. A peach pie was the request and this one made me look like a rock star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
Loved this. We didn't think it was too runny at all, but I followed other suggestions and drained the peaches and also kept it in the oven after baking. I added a 1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon per other's suggestions. Next time I will definitely double the crumble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This was great. After reading other reviews, I doubled the topping and mixed 1/2 in with peaches and then topped with the rest. Added Almond extract for kick of flavor. Topping: 1/3 Cup Flour, 1/4 Cup Brown sugar, 1/4 Cup White sugar, 1 Tsp. Cinnamon + Nutmeg. I used the refrigerated dough and pressed into my 10" pie pan. I tried mixing yellow and white peaches but next time will only do yellow as the white weren't as sweet. Consistency of peaches was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I made this pie GF and it came out great. I used a premade GF pie shell and took the advice of others and doubled the crumb mixture. I also used half white sugar and half brown sugar. I used tapioca starch for the flour and earth balance buttery sticks for the butter. I used 6 fresh peaches because that was all I had. I added half tsp. of Xanthan Gum to help hold the crumb mixture together. I also added a little cinnamon. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Love this recipe. Only a four because I made a few changes. I followed several of the tips in the reviews. I used frozen peaches, but I drained them. Then I added about 1/2 cup flour and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon to the peaches to make them thicker. I also substituted Splenda Blend for the sugar. It was fantastic. Nice and thick and easy to cut. My husband asked me to make this more often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Easy and very good. Best if eaten soon. Crust gets soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
This was my first attempt at a peach pie and it came out great! Bonus was I made it gluten-free (GF) for my daughter. Pie crust was GF and available pre-mixed in a box except for wet ingredients of course. I couldn't find nice fresh peaches so I bought frozen peach slices in a bag and would highly recommended it as an alternative and a time saver. Honestly after adding and baking the peaches you wouldn't be able to tell the difference between fresh and frozen. Like previous reviewers I had doubled the crumble ingredients and added cinnamon too! The flour was GF mixed grains plus I added a bit of xanthan gum (GF thickener). Worked wonders! Nice and dense and not runny but moist. The rating should be a 4 since many bakers here add changes to original but hey, that's what makes a great recipe. The basic recipe is simple and for anyone to give it a bad rating really need to see what they did wrong and try it again. Peaches come in various sizes, textures and ripeness and can really alter your results for this recipe. A really true baker or even chef would try a recipe again before mindlessly bashing a recipe. “Cut my pie into four pieces, I don’t think I could eat eight.” ? Yogi Berra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Psycholist

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
I had some very FRESH Western Slope (Fruita, Colorado) and made this very easy Recipe! My whole family loved it so much I made a second one with more of the huge batch of Peaches we have!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falcon, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peach Pie the Old Fashioned Two Crust Way

Watch how to make this simple peach pie.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States