Singkamas (Jicama) Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Excellent! I loved this recipe - made it as stated but substituted Splenda for the white sugar and left out the ginger root since I don't particularly care for it. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LadySparkle
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Delicious! I used an orange pepper instead of the green bell, 4 banana peppers instead of the chile peppers and I didn't have ginger root (I thought I did) so I added a teaspoon of hot chili powder to the dressing. Very nice flavor. Served with Pollo Oaxaca and beans and rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Delicious, light, refreshing salad. I made as directed, except I cut back on the ginger. It was wonderful. I took to a potluck and was asked for the recipe. I wondered how it would be leaving out the ginger and adding lime juice and cilantro. I'll try that next time. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Wonderful salad! and also good for you, the only change I made was to use Splenda and I reduced the amount to 1/4 of a cup with the stated amount it would have been too sweet for us. I can't think of something you can do to make it any better.Thanks lola for a delicious and healthy salad! Elvira Silva.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2010
I used stevia instead of sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
This was delicious!! I got a jicama in my CoOp basket and had no idea what to do with it. The only thing I did was add a yellow bell pepper with everything else because I needed to use it up. Awesome & great on a burger!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibble

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Great salad and made it to go with Chicken Adobo and beef stock rice - my husband is Filipino and loves it when I cook cultural things for him. The only things I did differently was to grate the ginger (used only 1-inch piece) into the liquids for the dressing part of the recipe and also omitted the salt from the recipe. Next time I make this, I'll add about a cup of finely chopped cabbage as well. Jicama is such a versatile veggie for both hot and cold dishes and this recipe will definitely go into my "keepers" binder for salads. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Very enjoyable salad. This was my first salad made with jicama and the flavors of the vegetables and dressing are unique and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I used a little under 2/3 cup honey instead of white sugar. My kids even loved it! Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
I used the juice of two limes, about a tablespoon of sugar, a tablespoon of toasted sesame oil, a handful of chopped cilantro, grated the ginger into the dressing, added about 1/2 cup of water and salt to taste over matchstick slices from 1/2 each of five different colored bell peppers, one sweet onion, one carrot, and one finely minced jalapeño pepper. Garnished with finely sliced radishes and Thai basil, it was colorful, delicious and very much enjoyed at a family celebration dinner! I would make it again trying a red onion (which I didn't have on hand) and perhaps an additional jalapeño pepper and a little moe grated ginger for a bit more heat. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Chrissy's Sweet 'n' Sour Tomato Salad

An easy, delicious sweet and sour tomato salad, perfect for any meal!

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States