Singaporean Tender Pork Spare Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Tried this tonight and both my husband and I loved it!!! Followed the recipe as is. Next time I might and a tiny bit more anise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
deserves 6 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I've been waiting awhile to make something that made me say "Oh, wow - now that is GOOOOOD!!" This is it! Like others, I used Chinese 5 spice in place of star anise, but also had only pineapple/orange juice, so I used that too. I love spicy, so added asian chili paste (about a tsp)to the marinade. Had fresh ginger - put a piece about an inch long in marinade as well. Marinaded overnight, when I finally cooked them in the broth - what an incredible smell! Made coconut rice too. Came out a little sticky, think I used too much liquid. I reduced the cooking broth, poured a little over the meat/rice. Could eat a whole lb of meat cooked like this! Easy, too. A must try.(Oh, pat dry w/paper towels the meat before frying or it splatters like crazy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2012
Loved it - this is 4th time making it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Has an interesting taste, meat came out moist and not too fatty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
I made this for my daughter, who is both a great fan of spare ribs and a discerning diner (with crusty wedges as a side). I didn't have enough oranges, so I juiced 4 apples and used juice of 1 orange. I didn't have either the anise or sticks of cinnamon, so I used 1Tbsp ground cinnamon:1stick and I used a combination of tarragon, basil, rosemary and ground peppercorn to replace the anise. Turned out wonderfully. My daughter says it even tops the spare ribs at the steakhouse we eat at!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cybersoul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ilikefrenchies
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This is a really great recipe! Its so tender and flavorful! Sadly I didnt have any star anise, so I had to leave it out. I also only did 4 sticks of cinnamon because that is all I had. It still came out fabulous! YUMM! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I prefer bbq ribs but these were very very good... my husband on the other hand said : These are the best ribs I have ever tasted, my mom would love these too !! Which, for a very picky eater is saying quite a lot. Will do again, of course !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yaright

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
WOW! Simple to make, amazing to taste! Thank you for this wonderful recipe! The ribs are tender and so full of flavor! Will have to try them in the crock pot as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Amazing!!!! I used pork country style ribs. They came out incredibly tender and the flavor was spectacular. Thanks for a great recipe, we'll be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Breinigsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Campanelle with Oven-Roasted Pork Ribs

Campanelle pasta is tossed with tender ribs, sliced cabbage, and flavorful sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States