Singapore Satay Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This recipe is quite authentic, similar in taste to the satay found in singapore. I used kikkoman soy sauce and skipped the salt but it still turned out a little too salty for our liking. Next time I'll try a soy sauce with less sodium. Lemongrass (frozen is okay) and tumeric powder are essential ingredients for the marinade so please do not omit them if possible. It gives the meat that unique flavor and color
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Boneless skinless thighs fry better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Wow that is delish. Made just as written but of course it started to rain as soon as I went outside to grill so I put it a grill pan inside. Cooked perfectly. Make this for dinner today it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
didnt have tumeric, used fresh ginger and garlic and one full stock of lemon grass per chicken breast. next time add a lil peanut butter perhaps or greek plain yogurt and bake...... overall F**king unreal! better then take out Vietnamese and i love that sh*t..... suggested side : rice or Vermicelli noodle or roasted root veg and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nolan Blyth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
My husband LOVES this recipe! (I do too) I use sesame oil instead of peanut (allergies) and when I can't find fresh lemongrass I use powdered. I serve them just as chicken breasts, and they're great! Instead of using some of the marinade as dipping sauce, I make my own, and often grill the remaining marinated onions on my george foreman when the chicken is finished. EXCELLENT RECIPE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I didn't thread this on skewers, but instead chopped the meat into bite size pieces before marinating, and then used it as part of a stir fry. This was my first time trying lemon grass, and I loved the taste it gave the marinade. However, it is not very edible on it's own--very very woody. Think of lemon grass like bay leaf, some that adds seasoning, but is never eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Ellen Pedroza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Crestline, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Fabulous flavor, but a bit too salty for my taste. Next time I would not marinate overnight, as I did this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marlena Engstrom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2010
I made this as the Recipe Exchange Group Recipe for the week of June 21st. Having never eaten satay before, neither I nor my husband know what it "should" be like. With that said, we thought this was a very tasty dinner. Next time I'd omit the onion and replace it with onion powder since I couldn't taste the onion & you don't wind up eating it anyway, why waste an onion when onion powder would work better? In the future I would used dried lemongrass. I can hear the purists squealing now but honestly...I couldn't taste it. Most of us don't live in a place where fresh or frozen lemongrass is available; mine was in those little plastic boxes in the produce section and I think it was inferior. I'm also not sure I'd use turmeric again. It stained my fingernails a weird pumpkin color :) (It'll wash off!) Lastly I did not pound my chicken, I just cut it into strips and let my husband sort out the cooking times (ha!). Overall we enjoyed this recipe thoroughly, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I made this tonight with pad thai noodles and the baked egg rolls recipe from this website. I left out the tumeric and cumin just because we dont like those flavors. I added a little fish sauce & lime to the marinade. I only marinated the meat for 1 hour. I grilled chicken and skirt beef on my indoor grill and basted the satay skewers with a peanut satay sauce I made. I lived in Singapore for a year and this was close to what I was looking for!!! Its a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LED87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indonesian Satay

See how to make traditional Indonesian chicken satay and peanut dipping sauce.

Chef John's Chicken Satay Burger

Turn what’s typically spicy meat-on-a-stick into tasty burger patties.

How to Make Chicken Satay

See how to make authentic Thai-style chicken satay.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States