Singapore Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
Great base recipe. I tried this today and made the following changes after reading the other reviews. I used chickenbroth instead of just water, 2 tbsp. low sodium soy sauce, 2 tbsp. fishsauce, 1 tbsp. sesame oil, and 2 tbsp. curry powder. I also only used chicken and shrimp, instead of all the different meats, and an 8oz pack of noodles. This tasted almost better than would we get at the restaurant. However, next time I will double the spices, sauces, and broth. For people that think something is missing, add the fishsauce and sesame oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
146 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This is the goods: one of the most addictive dishes on the planet. Take the man at his word and use it to clear out the fridge: about the only essential distinct ingredients are the shrimp, bean sprouts and the spices, but you can vary the meats and other veggies freely. It's so easy to overcook shrimp that I just bury them in the hot noodles a couple of minutes before tossing everything together. Also, when using frozen shrimp, I use the plumping technique suggested by Molly O'Neil: defrost them in the fridge for 24 hours, then brine them for an hour in a sugar/salt solution. I suggest only one major variation: I picked the brain of my local Singapore chef, and found that he uses equal quantities of curry and chili powders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2007
I followed the advise of another reviewer and added fish sauce and sesame oil. I substituted chicken broth for the water, and added more of it. First I browned the pork and chicken separately, and removed the meat from the pan. Then I browned the curry powder and some red chile flakes in the remaining oil before adding the vegetables and broth. I parboiled the carrots. I added some bok choy with the bean sprouts, and put the shrimp in at the end and returned the meat to the pan just before adding the noodles. This came out beautifully. My husband and I both loved it and I'm having the leftovers for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianemwj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Burbank, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
This dish turned out better than our local Chinese Restaurant's! I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and used chicken stock instead of water, used part sesame oil and added some chili flakes for a bite. I doubled the recipe, had 10 people to feed, and there were NO leftovers! Everyone LOVED it! Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EAKE

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Francestown, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
As I am a Singaporean, I, of course, love this tasty dish of noodles because this is a local dish. Thanks, Iron Chef-SuziQ!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2005
I used rice stick noodles. Also, I used a left over pork chop and some shrimp from the freezer. At the end, I heated some oil in my wok, added two scrambled eggs, and before they cooked completely added the noodles, then the rest. It was very, very nearly as good as what I spend $12 an order on at a very good local Chinese restaurant! On my first try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Great recipe. I added more water and soy sauce, along with snow peas and scallions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Valley Forge, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Thank you for this wonderful recipe! This is our favorite dish at a local resaurant, we used to go out of our way to go there! Now that i have found your recipe, I make it once a week! I have made this with various ingredients as well, depending on what is left over in the fridge. As long as you keep the base the same, a number of meats and vegetables can be added depending on your preferences. Thanks again, I no longer have to pay $10.95 for 2 small servings. I make enough now to be a side dish for the next evenings meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
Thanks chef Iron Chef-SuziQ for this delicious dish! The more I eat it, the more I'm addicted to it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
I love this. The flavor reminds me of a sai foon dish at my favorite chinese restaurant. I followed the recipe directions, except for using spaghettini instead vermicelli, adding mushrooms & red pepper flakes, and using green onion instead of regular. Served with hot garlic chili sauce & soy. Big hit! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States