Singapore Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2008
I took the chicken and pork out of this recipe and replaced the vermicelli noodles with flat rice noodles and it was still awesome! Very delicious curry dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
Thank you for this wonderful recipe! This is our favorite dish at a local resaurant, we used to go out of our way to go there! Now that i have found your recipe, I make it once a week! I have made this with various ingredients as well, depending on what is left over in the fridge. As long as you keep the base the same, a number of meats and vegetables can be added depending on your preferences. Thanks again, I no longer have to pay $10.95 for 2 small servings. I make enough now to be a side dish for the next evenings meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
This is by far the best meal ever. I thought that would be way too much curry and possibly too spicy for my family. I was soooo very wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
all I could taste was the overwhelming flavor of curry powder and celery!! I'm surprised that there was no salt mentioned in this recipe that helped a bit with the taste but not much, the dish was passable a long with the other dishes I made. Something was missing in the recipe but nobody in my family could figure out what it was. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Awesome...loved it. But I made WAY too many noodles...now I know for next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Oakbank, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This is the goods: one of the most addictive dishes on the planet. Take the man at his word and use it to clear out the fridge: about the only essential distinct ingredients are the shrimp, bean sprouts and the spices, but you can vary the meats and other veggies freely. It's so easy to overcook shrimp that I just bury them in the hot noodles a couple of minutes before tossing everything together. Also, when using frozen shrimp, I use the plumping technique suggested by Molly O'Neil: defrost them in the fridge for 24 hours, then brine them for an hour in a sugar/salt solution. I suggest only one major variation: I picked the brain of my local Singapore chef, and found that he uses equal quantities of curry and chili powders.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
I used for the sauce: 1 tbsp soya sauce 1 tbsp & 1 1/2 tsp of curry 2 tbsp brown sugar 2 oxo pkg chicken Mix together, then pour over noodles and other ingredients in skillet. Heat & serve. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This was amazing. I made this last night for my boyfriend and I and it came out delicious; he couldn't get enough. There is a Chinese place where I get these from which I really enjoy. I wanted to try to make them on my own and I am so glad I did. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. It's definitely a keeper. I did want to add that I omitted the celery and carrots and added more curry powder. I also didn't cook so much pasta. It turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
Made this tonight and it was really good! I've been to Singapore a few times so I even had a basis for comparison. :) I made a number of substitutions based on what we had on hand and what's healthier: broccoli instead of bean sprouts, whole wheat instead of regular pasta, and we did shrimp plus ground turkey rather than the meats in the recipe. It turned out well; I ended up having to add a bit more water and soy sauce than the recipe called for. Overall though it's a tasty recipe, fairly quick to make, and we'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
This dish was awsome! i loved the spices, i didnt use the pork i just did extra chicken and shrimp. i did add a little more water and used linguinni noodles, but it still turned out awsome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Singapore Chili Crabs

See how to make saucy Singapore-style chili crabs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States