Singapore Noodles Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
This was very good. My kids loved it. I used chicken broth instead of water and added extra soy sauce. I also used fish oil and seasame oil as reccomended by other reviewers. I used chicken thigh and shrimp only plus I added cabbage and snow peas...I left out the celery (just dont like it). It made alrge amount and we are looking forward to the leftovers! Thanks for sharing it with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pixiestix

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
Like some other reviewers, I found that the curry didn't really absorb into the meat and noodles. Instead, it was like having a gritty coating of spices on all the ingredients. I thought maybe I was biased having grown up on Indian curries, but my non-Indian hubby didn't like the dish, either. Too bad because the recipe seemed to have a lot of potential, so I made a lot. I managed to salvage the leftovers by turning them into a stew--made a curry base with garam masala, tomato paste, onions, garlic and ginger, then added a bunch of chicken broth and the leftover noodles/meat/veggies. The resulting stew still wasn't fantastic, but better than the noodles themselves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belmont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I've never had authentic singapore noodles, so I didn't have anything to compare these to, but my whole family loved this. I had my doubts making it because the sauce didn't seem like it would be anything special, so I put a few drops of Frank's hot buffalo sauce for a kick. I mixed the buffalo sauce, soy sauce and curry together before pouring it over everything. I omitted the pork and added scallions. Also I had to use spaghetti noodles, and they worked just fine. This will be made again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Does not taste like authentic Singapore Noodles. It should be rice vermicelli, not pasta! It was lacking the real flavors. I tried adding some fish sauce & sesame oil. Still too bland. The curry that should be used are the ones you buy at the Asian grocery, not supermarket kinds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Being a Singaporean, I thought this was pretty decent. I believe the quality of curry powder is very crucial to this dish, I would encouraged you to buy curry powder from a store which sells product imports from the S.E. Asia for flavor authenticity. I also added couple of eggs (beaten) at the end when I turn off the heat and mix well. Sort of like Carbonara-style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2009
This is a great dish! I put the chicken and pork in a marinade of soy sauce, br sugar and garlic for a few hours first for extra flavor. I also used sesame oil and cut the curry back to 1 tablespoon. Can't wait to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kalona, Iowa, USA
Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I was pretty impressed with this recipe - used only shrimp for the meat and onion (both yellow and green), bean sprouts, and red bell pepper for the veggies. Angel hair pasta instead of vermicelli. And...for a change I used just the seasonings the recipe called for instead of modifying the taste. It probably took longer to boil the water for the pasta and peel the shells off the shrimp than it did to cook this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muffinmom
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
After going on the Recipe Exchange to pick the brains of others for shrimp recipes, I took Pixie's advice and made this dish and I am glad I did! Wow! This is a new regular on my menu! I used only shrimp for this, and I didn't have any sprouts (which I will make sure I have next time). I also added an entire bag of prewashed green beans to this. For the sauce, I doubled the soy sauce and added a tsp. of sesame oil, but left the curry and water the same and was very pleased with the result! We all loved it! I was only going to give this four stars because I made a few changes, but thisa dish is so good, it would still be amazing as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
Gosh, I wish I had as good luck as everyone else did on this dish as I had high hopes. I would rate it lower but my dislike of the dish could be to the fact that I may not like curry?? The curry was sooooo over powering in the dish. Also, I didn't like the texture of the noodles, they were too mushy. Anyway, enough bashing the dish as I see many people had great luck with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Washington, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tlove
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
i did it! looked, smelled, and tasted just like my local Chinese delivery, but customized for my tastes :) i'm a vegetarian, so i left out the meat and the fish sauce suggested by some others, didn't use onions or celery cause i just don't like them, and i used broccoli, carrots, and snow peas, sautéed in sesame oil...i was very liberal with the soy sauce and curry powder, and i added some crushed red pepper for an extra kick...this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Chicken and Noodles

A truly old-fashioned chicken soup with homemade noodles and stock.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Beef Tips and Noodles

See how to make a simple, beefy noodle dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States