Sinfully Delicious Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
delicious..tastes suspiciously close to my mom's french silk pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kbud1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
Fantastically delicious, but so very sweet. Definitely not for chocoholics (as advertised). I used extra chocolate but next time I will use unsweetened or bittersweet chocolate and less sugar. It was also great as a mousse. I made tarts and chilled the rest of the filling in shot glasses!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
This pie is SO good.... I make this all the time... don't know why Raw eggs get such a bad rap... a raw egg is extremely nutritious, and I've been eating raw eggs for a long time now - as long as the eggs you use are fresh, you should have no problems. I always beat the eggs the full 5 minutes, but never use "fine grain" or food-processed sugar and have never had any grainy texture issues. Could be because the melted chocolate is still warm enough to help dissolve the sugar when I add it. Highly recommend this pie, its always a hit...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by islandmom26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: West Yarmouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
Love this pie! don't forget the whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Yum! This recipe is everything it claims to be! The hardest part is holding the mixer for so long (I don't have a 'standing mixer'), but WELL worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
This pie was WONDERFUL! Made it for b'friend's dad's birthday. It set beautifully, and only had a small amount of filling left after using a store-bought Oreo cookie crust. Everyone loved it. In fact it was so incredibly rich that I haven't been able to touch the leftovers! Good thing I have another chocolate pie-lover in the house who's more than grateful for what's left :) Thanks for a terrific -- and EASY -- recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
As a chocoholic, I found this too mildly flavored, hence the middling rating. If I were to make it again, I would increase the amount of chocolate and sugar by at least 25%. I used standard granulated sugar and beat 8 minutes after the addition of each egg; there was no hint of graininess - I see no need to buy a special sugar or to process the sugar if one follows the original instructions on beating time. I would also alter the ingredients to specify 50% unsalted butter. A bit of salt accentuates chocolate flavors, but there is too much in a full cup of salted butter. With a stronger chocolate and less salty flavor, I think I'd happily rate it a '5' . . . but not as the recipe is now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carnivore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
Oh my!!! This is fantastic. I made it for Thanksgiving and nobody wanted the pies. I doubled the recipe to fit in a 13x9 pan. Eggs and butter at room temperature and definately 5 minutes for each egg. For crust I used crushed pecan shortbread cookies and butter, found in the Lush Pie recipe on this site. Very rich and after the big meal, nobody could finish a 3" x 3" piece. With the shortbread crust, this would work well in individual custard cups also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ingrid Alma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: La Pine, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
I made this pie for Thanksgiving - it was simply delicious!! Everyone thought it was the best chocolate pie they had ever eaten. I highly recommend you try it! You won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This pie is extremley good. But remember to mix in each egg for 5 minutes. To make it creamier blend the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States