Sinfully Delicious Chocolate Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I completely messed this up but it still turned out delicious. I pre-baked the pie crust but didn't bake it long enough, forgetting for the moment that the pie wasn't going to be baked. I made the filling, put it in the fridge, and then remembered that the crust wasn't all the way baked. Not wanting to waste the pie, I decided to bake it with the filling. I baked it at 375 for about 20 minutes and then chilled it. Turned out chocolately, creamy, and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Words cannot describe this pie. My husband has never looked at me the way he did tonight over eating that pie, and shockingly, he says it's the best thing he has put in his mouth so far. I did the recipe as is, used regular STORE BRAND granulated sugar, and there was absolutely NOTHING "grainy" about this pie - perhaps other reviewers aren't mixing long enough. Thank you, THANK YOU for such a wonderful recipe. It is a KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Wonderful! Followed the recipe exactly, other than using superfine sugar, since I had it on hand. My only thought was I might try the graham cracker crust next time ... this definitely needs to be kept refrigerated, and cold pie crust just isn't too appealing. 5 minutes per egg with my hand held mixer does get long, but it IS necessary! Filling was nice and thick for a deep dish shell, and texture was perfectly smooth. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
Definitely grind the sugar to fine and beat 5 minutes between each egg. It is worth it! Best chocolate pie ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
My kids made this for me as my "Birthday cake". It was rich, not too sweet, and apparently easy to make as my 14 and 9 yr olds had no problem tackling it. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
This is the most awesome chocolate pie. Followed DIZ's ideas on the review and the pie turned out wonderful. Definately use your stand alone mixer, my Kitchenaid is my friend. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4Food

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This is THE BEST chocolate silk pie I’ve ever made and the photo just does not do it justice. The pie is very firm due to refrigeration, but the texture is as smooth as silk and it melts in your mouth like a rich chocolate truffle. To avoid a granular texture, you have to devote a little extra time. First, you need to let the butter come to room temperature (the eggs, too!). Be sure to whip the butter and sugar really well and then let it set for 5 – 10 minutes. This will give the sugar extra time to dissolve. Then whip a second time before adding the vanilla and “warm” melted chocolate. I used my KA and beat each egg as directed. I used a standard pie plate and the filling went all the way to the top of the crust making for a thick, mouth watering piece of pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
So Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I was excited to see this recipe! My grandma made my dad what she called "English Toffee Pie" for his birthday every year while he was growing up. I have only made it a few times and lost the recipe. The changes I make is I use 1 3/4 powdered sugar, 3 oz unsweetened chocolate and put on a crust made from 1/3 cup melted butter, 1 1/2 cups crushed vanilla wafers, and a handful of chopped walnuts. I press it into a 9" pie plate and hang on to a little bit to sprinkle on top. Perfect with whipped cream on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This is a no-bake pie. It had a granular texture, even with beating egg for five minutes after each egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

French Silk Chocolate Pie I

See how to make an amazingly simple, silky chocolate pie.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Chocolate Cream Pie I

This easy pie is dense with dark-chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States