Sinful Flourless Espresso Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This is the BEST!! Everyone needs to try it just once!! Great for entertaining!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2006
Very easy recipe to make. The amount of batter is more than enough for one 9" cake pan. I had to use several custard cups to accommodate the extra. Not a problem. What was a problem was the texture of the cake after being chilled over night. The cake which had a rich, cake-like texture after cooling to room temperature became fudge-like after being cooled overnight. I tasted the cake both ways and do not feel that the flavor (which was very nice) improves with time. I might make this again for a real chocolate diehard but I would definitely serve it same day at room temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is an excellent recipe. I made it for a potluck and everyone enjoyed it. Used a springform pan instead of cake pan as there was way to much batter for the cake pan. Topped with fresh strawberry sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Packwood, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
The flavor is good but the texture was not. No one liked it in my house or my neighbors as I gave her some to bake up. Broken up into pieces in like an ice cream blizzard or topping it is good but I won't make it again. Not cakelike or fudgelike.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
It is simple, both with regards to ingredients and making. I made it as a part of a cake menu, as the choice for true chocolate lovers and it was a true success at the party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
although i messed up the first time and added a cup of espresso grounds (unbrewed) i imagine that if done right this is probably a good recipe. when looking on line for similar recipes i found that nobody really described the type if pan to use or how to seal a spring form pan .......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Absolutely amazing. I was very worried about this recipe going into it but thought Iwould give it a shot. Glad I did as everyone loved it. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2010
It was a great recipe. However if their are any ciliacs thinking of trying this recipe i recommend you check the ingredients on the chocolate squares as they often contain a soy protein.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
This is absolutely delicious desert, but it doesn't have the same texture as regular cake so don't expect that. It's 1,000 times better. I didn't have a 9" pan, but I found it to fit perfect in two 8" pans and helped it to go further for more guest. As for the individual who mentioned that chocolate squares have soy protein; all the research I've done indicates that soy protein is gluten free and safe for individuals with celiac.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
FANTASTIC. I made this for Mother's Day and my mom could not have been happier. We ate it same day, and next day, and it's delicious both ways. Keep in mind, the more you beat the eggs, the more dense the batter will become. I barely beat them and the cake was delicious. I decorated the top with fresh raspberry instead of the puree and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Flourless Chocolate Cake II

See how to make an easy, fudgy, gluten-free chocolate cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Flourless Chocolate Cake I

This dense chocolate cake is perfect for those who avoid flour or gluten.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States