Simply White Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Try adding 3-4 tablespoons of powdered buttermilk (found in the baking section). We find this bread so versitile, and it is also fantastic and light and HEALTHY all by itself. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This bread is SO EASY to make and tastes great. I used my electric knife to cut and it didn't crumble-every slice was shaped nicely. I used this recipe and added another tablespoon (1/4 c. total) of honey to make "sweetrolls" in which rolled out, sprinkled with melted butter, cinnamon & sugar, and raisins) rolled them up and sliced, then baked in the oven and frosted. They were amazing! I recommend it, especially to moms with young ones (6 & 2) that like to help "cook"...I don't think you can make this bread and have it turn out bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTFROGGI

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sedalia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
very easy to do and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
What a pleasant surprise this was! I have my standard recipe for white bread and am very resistant to change, so I was tempted not to use the full amount of honey in this recipe as I thought it would be too sweet. In fairness to the recipe I "braved it" and added the full 2 tablespoons. Since I use yeast from the jar, I just measured out 1-1/2 teaspoons. Fragrant, soft and tender, this bread has the perfect balance of sweet and salty, though it is neither. Great bread for toast, sandwiches, or even on it's own with butter and jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Excellent texture and flavor! I used 2 Tb sugar in place of honey with no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
You simply Must try this recipe!! I was a little dubious at first, but I would rate this seven starts now, if I could! I used real butter instead of oil, and I increased the servings to 18 to make a 2 lb(?) loaf - I assumed the recipe made enough for a standerd 1.5 lb loaf - and put the crust on the lightest setting. The first loaf was gone in an afternoon, and I'm now making a second one for today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
My family really liked this one. It's easy and I usually have all the ingredients on hand. It has a better flavor than other recipes that I've tried, probably due to the honey. I used 1 tablespoon coconut oil and 1 tablespoon vegetable oil. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Very good white bread. Slices nicely without crumbling. One thing I did find out on my last batch...I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpose flour with 3 tsp of gluten added, changed it to 18 servings like another reviewer to make a 2 lb loaf and it rose too much and not only hit the top of the lid, but overflowed. I took it out of the bread machine and separated the dough into 2 and placed in greased loaf pans and baked at 350 for 25 min and they came out great. I think from now on I will use the 18 servings adjustment and use the dough cycle on the bread machine and bake in the oven. Made great grilled cheese sandwiches and pb and j's. Definitely going into my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I love this recipe, I know it says "Simply White Bread" but I make it as my standard whole wheat bread and it is excellent. My kids beg me to make this bread all the time. They eat the whole loaf at dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2-4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Wonderful bread and easy to make with the breadmaker. I took another poster's advice with the yeast from a jar and used 1.5 tsp and cut with an electric knife. Fantastic recipe I intend to make for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEFLINK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States