Simply White Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
What a pleasant surprise this was! I have my standard recipe for white bread and am very resistant to change, so I was tempted not to use the full amount of honey in this recipe as I thought it would be too sweet. In fairness to the recipe I "braved it" and added the full 2 tablespoons. Since I use yeast from the jar, I just measured out 1-1/2 teaspoons. Fragrant, soft and tender, this bread has the perfect balance of sweet and salty, though it is neither. Great bread for toast, sandwiches, or even on it's own with butter and jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Wonderful! Very soft and non-crumbly. Excellent with half white and hale whole wheat flour, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Excellent texture and flavor! I used 2 Tb sugar in place of honey with no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Really good and it doesn't crumble when sliced. I used 2 c. white whole wheat flour, 1 c. AP flour, I used kosher salt and added 2 T. buttermilk powder. UPDATE: I bake alot of bread and this one has become a favorite. I now use melted butter instead of oil. I don't have a bread machine so I just proof my yeast and mix it up. Very good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This bread is SO EASY to make and tastes great. I used my electric knife to cut and it didn't crumble-every slice was shaped nicely. I used this recipe and added another tablespoon (1/4 c. total) of honey to make "sweetrolls" in which rolled out, sprinkled with melted butter, cinnamon & sugar, and raisins) rolled them up and sliced, then baked in the oven and frosted. They were amazing! I recommend it, especially to moms with young ones (6 & 2) that like to help "cook"...I don't think you can make this bread and have it turn out bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTFROGGI

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sedalia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by robograndma
Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This is now my new all the time white bread recipe. So easy I love it. The family likes the bread in a lofe shape so I use the dough cycle, and bake at 350 for 30 min. checking at 25min. to be safe. I forgot the salt and DH did not notice so I now skip it all the time. I use EVOO in place of the vegetable oil. It seems healther to me. All I can say is don't let the short list of ingredients stop you this is good bread, nice smooth texture, toast up well and holds up to PB & J. brush the crust with butter and it wont get hard. Thank you LJSS for a wonderfull recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by robograndma
Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Meridian, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Very good white bread. Slices nicely without crumbling. One thing I did find out on my last batch...I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpose flour with 3 tsp of gluten added, changed it to 18 servings like another reviewer to make a 2 lb loaf and it rose too much and not only hit the top of the lid, but overflowed. I took it out of the bread machine and separated the dough into 2 and placed in greased loaf pans and baked at 350 for 25 min and they came out great. I think from now on I will use the 18 servings adjustment and use the dough cycle on the bread machine and bake in the oven. Made great grilled cheese sandwiches and pb and j's. Definitely going into my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Try adding 3-4 tablespoons of powdered buttermilk (found in the baking section). We find this bread so versitile, and it is also fantastic and light and HEALTHY all by itself. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
this is a very easy bread to make and taste very good. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
You simply Must try this recipe!! I was a little dubious at first, but I would rate this seven starts now, if I could! I used real butter instead of oil, and I increased the servings to 18 to make a 2 lb(?) loaf - I assumed the recipe made enough for a standerd 1.5 lb loaf - and put the crust on the lightest setting. The first loaf was gone in an afternoon, and I'm now making a second one for today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States