Simply White Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2008
What a pleasant surprise this was! I have my standard recipe for white bread and am very resistant to change, so I was tempted not to use the full amount of honey in this recipe as I thought it would be too sweet. In fairness to the recipe I "braved it" and added the full 2 tablespoons. Since I use yeast from the jar, I just measured out 1-1/2 teaspoons. Fragrant, soft and tender, this bread has the perfect balance of sweet and salty, though it is neither. Great bread for toast, sandwiches, or even on it's own with butter and jam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
very easy to do and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Try adding 3-4 tablespoons of powdered buttermilk (found in the baking section). We find this bread so versitile, and it is also fantastic and light and HEALTHY all by itself. Thank you so much for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOOKEDONJESUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
This bread is SO EASY to make and tastes great. I used my electric knife to cut and it didn't crumble-every slice was shaped nicely. I used this recipe and added another tablespoon (1/4 c. total) of honey to make "sweetrolls" in which rolled out, sprinkled with melted butter, cinnamon & sugar, and raisins) rolled them up and sliced, then baked in the oven and frosted. They were amazing! I recommend it, especially to moms with young ones (6 & 2) that like to help "cook"...I don't think you can make this bread and have it turn out bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTFROGGI

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sedalia, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
Very easy with great results. Made with my 4yr old son. and still turned out good. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
Great bread to make with the timing device on the machine. Very soft even two days later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Wonderful! Very soft and non-crumbly. Excellent with half white and hale whole wheat flour, also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2001
this is a very easy bread to make and taste very good. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-88 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States