Simply White Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
I used a bread machine on medium dark and " basic" setting. I followed the recipe except for substituting sugar for the honey. It was a great loaf of bread; crunchy outside moist inside. Next time I plan to raise the servings to 18 to get a bigger loaf out of the machine. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
I did not have any sugar and wanted some homemade bread. I found this recipe and was worried about the honey, but it did not change the taste of the bread. But I loved this and so did my family. I'll admit I was surprised how good this turned out. This is a definite keeper and I will make if often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook and a half

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
This is the best white bread I have ever made!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Beavercreek, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Delicious! This is the first time I've ever made bread. It's been done for 30 min and the loaf is already half gone. It is so good, and so easy! No more store bought bread in this house :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA
Living In: Hubert, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
OH MY!!! The smell in my kitchen, while baking, was to die for. I used a mixture of Maple Syrup and Sugar in place of the honey (didn't have any in the house) and it still tasted delicious. So good, in fact, I'm going to start another loaf. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
This is so easy and it makes a great loaf of bread. I like to add 3 to 4 Tbs. of powered buttermilk as others have suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChristineB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Magalia, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
This bread was SIMPLY wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Roughly one and a quarter parts liquid to three parts flour? No, no, no...a hydration in the low 40's is way, way too low. It's no wonder everyone gets a tight crumb! Hydration should be around 55%-65%. Sure enough, I ended up adding around .5 of a cup of water while the machine was kneading because the dough was too dry and kept "knocking." This additional water didn't affect the tight crumb. Also, .25 oz. of yeast is roughly 2 1/4 tsp. This a good simple recipe for white bread. Don't forget to let the loaf cool before slicing or it'll be gummy. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
So good! And easy! My kids like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachtheBach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Lenox, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States