Simply White Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Really good and it doesn't crumble when sliced. I used 2 c. white whole wheat flour, 1 c. AP flour, I used kosher salt and added 2 T. buttermilk powder. UPDATE: I bake alot of bread and this one has become a favorite. I now use melted butter instead of oil. I don't have a bread machine so I just proof my yeast and mix it up. Very good bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadySparkle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Photo by smitty
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
yes this is defininately a really great white bread...i used 2 cups white and 1 cup multigrain and it turned out beautifully...will forsure make it again...thanks for the recipe...update i make this bread alot and have used the super rapid on the breadmaker...it turns out beautifully on that cycle as well...so glad i found this recipe it never lets me down...thanks again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I will review with the words of my two teenage boys: This is AWESOME! I have to agree with them. Easy, moist, hint of honey. Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Macks Creek, Missouri, USA
Living In: Signal Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I use this recipe all the time and we love it. Simple, easy and tastes great. What else could you ask for?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SooperLowa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Wonderful bread and easy to make with the breadmaker. I took another poster's advice with the yeast from a jar and used 1.5 tsp and cut with an electric knife. Fantastic recipe I intend to make for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEFLINK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I love this recipe, I know it says "Simply White Bread" but I make it as my standard whole wheat bread and it is excellent. My kids beg me to make this bread all the time. They eat the whole loaf at dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momma2-4

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
Very good white bread. Slices nicely without crumbling. One thing I did find out on my last batch...I used 1/2 whole wheat flour and 1/2 all purpose flour with 3 tsp of gluten added, changed it to 18 servings like another reviewer to make a 2 lb loaf and it rose too much and not only hit the top of the lid, but overflowed. I took it out of the bread machine and separated the dough into 2 and placed in greased loaf pans and baked at 350 for 25 min and they came out great. I think from now on I will use the 18 servings adjustment and use the dough cycle on the bread machine and bake in the oven. Made great grilled cheese sandwiches and pb and j's. Definitely going into my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
My family really liked this one. It's easy and I usually have all the ingredients on hand. It has a better flavor than other recipes that I've tried, probably due to the honey. I used 1 tablespoon coconut oil and 1 tablespoon vegetable oil. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LolaMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
You simply Must try this recipe!! I was a little dubious at first, but I would rate this seven starts now, if I could! I used real butter instead of oil, and I increased the servings to 18 to make a 2 lb(?) loaf - I assumed the recipe made enough for a standerd 1.5 lb loaf - and put the crust on the lightest setting. The first loaf was gone in an afternoon, and I'm now making a second one for today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glass Cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Excellent texture and flavor! I used 2 Tb sugar in place of honey with no problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States