Simply Traditional Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I didn't like the taste much and it could have used less meat, more sauce. It was a bit dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
The recipe didn't say to cover the lasagne with foil, and my noodles were done in the center but hard around the edges. The sauce was pretty tasty, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Of course I can never follow the recipe the way that it's written as they are more used for guidance and ideas. My tweeks... Just after the meat starts turning brown... Season IT! Brown beef is plain and boring and should be soaking up all those flavors while it cooks. I also used more meat, adding an extra 1/2lb of each as my hubby is a meat eater. 2nd- I did drain a little of the grease but left some in the pan and omitted the water. I added the black olives and then almost immediately added the jars of sauce (went w/1 jar Italian Sausage and the other Garlic Veg for a nice flavor combo). I believe for a nice flavorable sauce you need to allow these ingredients to blend together and simmer for at least 1/2 hour which allows the sauce to combine with the meat and tenderize it (a must). Plus the longer the sauce simmers, you will notice it creating it's own moisture for the water you omitted. This was the first I had used dry noodles and I can say I will never go back to boiling them! What a waste of time and noodle breakage. This way worked perfectly with regular lasagna noodles. I used a 24oz of Ricotta as I was making a large dish and also added a mix of Italian Blends of chz in the layering. Turned out DELISH!! Best I've ever made. It was nice and thick- not runny or goopy...which I give thanks to the the dry noodles. Also note: Many other vegs would be great inthe dish: peppers, onions, mushrooms, spinach, zuchinni, etc. It's a keeper! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMCCARNEY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I always cover the pan when I bake it. Towards the end I uncover & add a little more shredded mozzarella on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by holyoke1959
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
Years ago someone told me not to cook the lasagna noodles, it wasn't necessary (she was a school cook and a really good one), and she was right. In fact I usually make two and put one in the freezer for another time. Works out great, and sure saves time. I never put the black olives in mine but I think I'm going to try that, sounds great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I mix eggs,black pepper and riccota together and it makes a quick and tasty cheese sauce to use in lasagne. Use in place of riccota cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
I used the regular noodles, but the noodles were not quite done after cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
If you opt to make this with no cook noodles, just know they do not freeze well, rather, they just turn to mush. So, you must eat it up within a few days. I made that mistake once, and it's too costly, and too time consuming to use those noodles and freeze them, then not be able to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Instead of cooking the noodles or leaving them dry, soak them for 20 minutes in the hottest tap water you can get. It's a nice way to use traditional noodles if you are not a fan of the no-boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
The sauce has a really good flavor, but I suggest cooking your lasagna noodles before you put it all together. I will do that next time. But all in all, it was very good. I also added chopped bell pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States