Simply Traditional Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
The Lasagna was very good and easy to make. But when I went shopping for the dinner I made a mistake of interrupting pasta sauce for tomato sauce. To save your money on fixing the mistake. You want to buy Spaghetti Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoniqueGearhart

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Made as recipe stated except I used 24 oz of marinara with a can of tomato sauce. only 1tsp of black pepper. Delicious! have made this dish twice and it was really good both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
We have had this several times. I'm glad winter is coming so I can fire up the oven and make this again. I read all the reviews including Sophie's update before I began. So: use two larger jars of sauce; use fresh onion and garlic; add the thyme; a 16 oz. container of ricotta is just enough. Buttering the dry noodles with the ricotta: genius. Didn't use the black olives because I didn't have any. One thing I did differently was to cover the lasagna with foil (I think someone else suggested that) for 50 minutes, then put the reserved cheese on it and finished it in the oven for 10-15 minutes more without the foil. Let me just say THANK YOU, SOPHIE! This is the best lasagna recipe. My son has always said Pasta House (St. Louis restaurant) lasagna is the best. When he and his fiancee began moaning as they ate, I knew I had a winner. They ask when I am going to fix this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
I made this a long time ago and saved the recipe....going to do it again....maybe the reason everybody adds more sauce is because the recipe says two 14 ounce jars marinara---is that a typo? Couldn't even find that size at store.......Most standard jars are 24 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
Very good, I used cottage cheese instead of ricotta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Added spinach and removed olives. Used some spicy sausage too for more heat. Love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Would make again in a heartbeat. So easy to throw together and i love that you don't have to cook the noodles. I know it seems scary but they really do cook in the lasagna itself. Makes you realize you could probably do that with any lasagna. The heat and moisture from the layers of sauce and meat soften the noodles and the time spent in the oven takes it the rest of the way. I think next time i'll leave out the sausage and sub with more ground beef. I felt the sausage flavor took over the others too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hasbrouck Heights, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Dumont, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly....my family really does enjoy it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Thought this turned out great and so much easier not boiling the noodles first. WHO KNEW? My husband is a huge Lasagna fan and was so excited I made this for him. He loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
I have been looking for a "traditional" lasagna recipe for a while. Simple is better! A woman at my work makes it with this recipe and it is great! However, I prefer more ricotta, so I doubled the ricotta. Also, I was unable to spread it well, so I'm not sure how one can spread it with what the recipe calls for - I would suggest making very thin layers. Also - because my layers were thicker - I used half of the lasagna noodles. The original is definitely a keeper, but if you like the flavor of ricotta, then I say double it. I would not alter this recipe, as it is very simple and traditional, which is what I prefer. Adding too much "extras" is just another meal. And I was nervous about the spicy sausage making it taste different than the traditional flavor, but it was actually quite perfect! I've deleted all other lasagna recipes, as this is exactly what I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CrissyCK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States