Simply Traditional Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
This was amazing! I doubled the recipe for a party we were having. Everyone loved it. I doubled the ricotta cheese and added extra sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika D. Melrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBirman
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
This was really good and as the name suggests- simple! I would make this again when I don't have as much time (or energy) but wanna make lasagna. Only thing I would change is the amount of sage- TOO much! I would use 1/3 of the suggested amount. (Unless you absolute love sage.) I made this with the garlic & herb pull apart bread from this site and it was a perfect match.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBirman

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2014
The flavor in this was delicious and my kids loved it. The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is I thought it needed more sauce. I didn't have enough meat/sauce combo for 3 layers so the top layer of noodles didn't get fully covered. I had to add water to keep them from being crunchy. I would add another jar of marinara sauce the next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karla Ash Lien

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JSauce
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
try all sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Excellent basic recipe. I made it according to the recipe the first time and THEN tweaked it. The 5 stars are for the recipe "as written". I agree that more ricotta is needed so that was what I added the second time I made this. The third and fourth times I added a little more black olive; they come canned so remember that they'll add a bit more moisture to your lasagna - definitely don't need to pre-cook the lasagna noodles or use those awful no-boil things. We prefer using mild sausage and my additional tweak is therefore using about 1-1/2 lbs. of mild Italian bulk sausage and about 1/2 pound 80/20 ground beef. I've also added fennel seeds -- about 1/2 teaspoon -- to the cooking meat mixture which seems to help balance the acidity of the marinara sauce. Again, the 5 stars are for the reecipe as written. The tweaking I did is to give people some other ideas of what to do. Don't be afraid to experiment a little bit to make the recipe your own. Fantastic recipe, Sophie!! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RR_LLC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
A little More sauce I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I made this recipe and it was delicious. I wouldn't change a thing about it. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
We replaced ground meat with ground turkey, left out the olives, and added a six Italian cheese blend to brown on top. It was quite good. I cooked my noodles until pliable, but not al dente. I just can't make myself put them in the dish completely uncooked. I also mix the ricotta with the meat mixture to take away one layering step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This takes a while to cook but sooooooooooo worth it! Delicious!!!!!!!!! Everyone at my party loved it! I wouldn't change a thing. But one suggestion is to simmer the sauce for at least four hours just cuz it seemed to taste even better when I let all the good flavor simmer and blend together longer. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Delicious. Just the right blend of spices. I used 2 jars traditional pasta sauce (I usually make my own but thought I'd try it this way) and mild Italian sausage. It came out amazingly. My family and I ate half for dinner last night and I stored the other half in the freezer to have for dinner another time to serve on a busy school night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Easy Lasagna I

Try this tasty lasagna that's simple to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States