Simply Traditional Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JSauce
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
try all sausage next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Excellent basic recipe. I made it according to the recipe the first time and THEN tweaked it. The 5 stars are for the recipe "as written". I agree that more ricotta is needed so that was what I added the second time I made this. The third and fourth times I added a little more black olive; they come canned so remember that they'll add a bit more moisture to your lasagna - definitely don't need to pre-cook the lasagna noodles or use those awful no-boil things. We prefer using mild sausage and my additional tweak is therefore using about 1-1/2 lbs. of mild Italian bulk sausage and about 1/2 pound 80/20 ground beef. I've also added fennel seeds -- about 1/2 teaspoon -- to the cooking meat mixture which seems to help balance the acidity of the marinara sauce. Again, the 5 stars are for the reecipe as written. The tweaking I did is to give people some other ideas of what to do. Don't be afraid to experiment a little bit to make the recipe your own. Fantastic recipe, Sophie!! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RR_LLC

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
A little More sauce I think!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
I made this recipe and it was delicious. I wouldn't change a thing about it. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
We replaced ground meat with ground turkey, left out the olives, and added a six Italian cheese blend to brown on top. It was quite good. I cooked my noodles until pliable, but not al dente. I just can't make myself put them in the dish completely uncooked. I also mix the ricotta with the meat mixture to take away one layering step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This takes a while to cook but sooooooooooo worth it! Delicious!!!!!!!!! Everyone at my party loved it! I wouldn't change a thing. But one suggestion is to simmer the sauce for at least four hours just cuz it seemed to taste even better when I let all the good flavor simmer and blend together longer. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Delicious. Just the right blend of spices. I used 2 jars traditional pasta sauce (I usually make my own but thought I'd try it this way) and mild Italian sausage. It came out amazingly. My family and I ate half for dinner last night and I stored the other half in the freezer to have for dinner another time to serve on a busy school night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
This recipeit was loved by all my family I just skipped on the sausage and added more sauce and mozzarella cheese just for like but the spices made it have a better flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
The Lasagna was very good and easy to make. But when I went shopping for the dinner I made a mistake of interrupting pasta sauce for tomato sauce. To save your money on fixing the mistake. You want to buy Spaghetti Sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MoniqueGearhart

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Made as recipe stated except I used 24 oz of marinara with a can of tomato sauce. only 1tsp of black pepper. Delicious! have made this dish twice and it was really good both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

World’s Best Lasagna

See how to make the best homemade lasagna!

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States