Simply Succulent Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kellieann
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
These were really good. Next time I will use more red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Yummy! Though I will have to experiment for a little more depth of flavor (thus 4 stars) the simplicity of the recipe is supreme for the results. I had defrosted a couple pounds of shrimp and wasn't sure what to make, but knew I wanted something scampi-like. I had leftover chicken broth in the fridge, so I decided to try this. I used more chicken broth than called for and skipped the red pepper flakes, but added lemon juice to the broth. I also used more garlic too (minced from jar) and mixed the garlic butter in with the broth. I poured it over rice and added spinach for a scrumptious shrimp "soup". I can see this being fabulous for pasta too. The simmering really kept the shrimp tender. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Delicious and simple to make. I used some very large shrimp as I couldn't find tiger prawns. I love the garlic butter for dipping, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 24, 2005
I made this as a fondue. I put a little over 2 cups of broth in a fondue pot with the red pepper and then we had a great time dipping the shrimp one by one into the pot to cook them and then into the garlic butter as a sauce before eating. I added some parsley to the garlic butter to give it a bit of colour. This will be my new fondue recipe - much better then beef or chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2004
These were good, but we prefer the shrimp grilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2004
This is a great way to have shrimp. The hardest part is peeling the shrimp. I mix the shrimp, garlic butter,cooked frozen veggies,and San Giorgio Roasted Garlic Angel Hair pasta together and my husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2003
Excellent taste and SO simple. I used homemade chicken stock to saute, and fresh garlic in the butter. Then I cooked some fresh pasta and combined it all, using just enough of the garlic butter to coat the pasta. It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2003
Thanks for the good recipe, simple and tasty. I substituted white wine for the chicken stock just for variety - it's delish either way. If you don't like to use wine in cooking, use apple juice sharpened by a dash of fresh lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Scampi Bake

Dijon mustard adds zesty zip to buttery shrimp scampi.

Chef John’s Deviled Shrimp Ragu

See how to make spicy shrimp ragu served over sweet, creamy corn custard.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States